Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Aussies love their pumpkin soup... and they love their Thai, this combines the best of both. My entire family (small boys included) loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
After tasting it, I decided it needed some sea salt and some extra chopped lemongrass. Good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A very simple recipe yet tasteful recipe. I added 1 tbsp green curry paste, 3 kaffir lime leaves, and 3 tbsp brown sugar -fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is a delicious recipe... well balanced and flavorful. We only used 1 chili pepper, and it wasn't spicy at all (maybe not spicy enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This soup is really good, but like others, a little too bland for my taste. The first time I made it, it was a hit. I couldn't find fresh lemon grass so I used powdered and I added a bit of curry and vegetable base (Better than Bouillion). I made some today since I had some pumpkin that I had pureed in the freezer. I was missing some, well alot of the ingredients so improvised...3 shallots instead of four, one more clove of garlic, no chicken broth so I made vegetable broth with the vegetable base, no coconut milk so decided to experiment and added 2 snack cups of unsweetened applesauce along with one cup of rice milk, again used curry (love the stuff), oh and about 1/4 of a red pepper since I didn't have chili peppers and a pinch of crushed red pepper for a little kick. Not bad... not bad at all...tastes about the same as the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great soup! Careful with the chilies though, I doubled all the ingredients to cater for more people and I found that two chilie gave it a sufficient kick. Also added a couple of teaspoons of freshly grated ginger... yumeee ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Kerri R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
The soup was a bit too rich and the lemon grass left strings of hard fibers behind after blending. However, I will cook this again! I increased the seasonings and added some "Tom Yum" paste since other reviewrs thought it needed a boost. Next time I will do the same, but use lite coconut milk and use less coconut milk and more broth. This recipe is worth tinkering with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Excellent, really, really, good! It has a explosive flavor that is unique. But if your going to make it dont mess with the ingredients till you've tried it. PLEASE. Recomend for those who enjoy exotic food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Definitely has a Thai flavor, but the ingredients aside from pumpkin, pepper and lemon grass are lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States