Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is a good base. I added about 2 tablespoons of fish sauce and brown sugar, as well as the juice of half a lime to deepen the Thai flavor. Next time, I am also going to mix in some jasmine rice and bean sprouts so the soup can stand as a meal on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Excellent recipe! Easily made vegan with vegetable stock vegan butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I doubled the garlic an lemongrass, as suggested, and used a can of each of the liquids. LOVED IT. I also used the prechopped lemongrass and chillies in the produce section. Made it much faster and easier to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I can't honestly rate this as written, but what I made was a definite 5 in my house! As is customary in many reviews, here is my version, changes only: (omitted red pepper and lemon grass) 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 sweet onion subbed for shallots, 1 can chicken broth, 1 can LITE coconut milk, 1 tsp. ginger paste from the tube (in the fresh herbs produce section) and added 10-15 cooked shrimp. Also, allow to salt and pepper to taste. And my #1 secret??? I used 3 1/2 c pureed fresh sweet Hubbard squash, bright orange in color, and it was fresh and amazing! Truly a blend of my favorite Thai soup with a fall pumpkin taste! What an amazing soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leenie050

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This has a very nice flavor... not over the top, but a nice thai flavor. I used one dried chili pepper in place of the fresh and it had a nice warmth to it. I also used butternut squash in place of pumpkin. Please note that this makes a fairly thin soup; if you were looking for a bisque consistency you may want to decrease the amount of broth. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is really good as-is, and a great springboard for add-ins and adjustments. The Thai flavors are pretty subtle so if you like your Thai strong like I do, you will probably want to crank them up. I added red curry and threw some lime leaves in while my soup was cooking, and doubled the lemon grass. We had this with cold shrimp and chili-garlic sauce as an appetizer. Oh, I also used canned pumpkin because it's not in season now, but I really wanted to make this soup - it works fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I just made this soup and it was so nice... The Thai basil made it marvelous. Will make again for sure. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This soup was okay. If I'd stuck with the quantities as written, however, it would have been rather bland. I made it to a 'T', except for doubling the amount of lemongrass and garlic as suggested by other reviewers, and even still both my housemate and I agreed it was a very bland soup. I then proceeded to add another tablespoon of lemongrass; chopped fresh cilantro (maybe about 4 tablespoons); and the juice of 1/2 a lime. These additions definitely helped the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This soup was a hit for the entire family. I made some slight modifications based on what I had in my house and personal preferences. I doubled the amount of garlic and lemon grass that the recipe called for and used canned pumpkin instead of fresh (1 can = 2 cups). I also added about a 1 teaspoon of ground ginger and a 1/2 teaspoon of yellow curry powder. Instead of red chili peppers I used green serrano peppers. I also added some coconut syrup (about a teaspoon) to sweeten the spiciness of the soup. This was an amazing recipe to work with! Next time I think I might add some crushed peanuts as garnish with the basil before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Very tasty-my husband loves Thai food and said this was excellent. Fun and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States