Thai Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I just made a few modifications. I added an extra chili pepper, doubled the lemon grass and garlic, and added a 2cm cube of ginger. The pumpkin I used was a fresh one from the store. I roasted it for 40 minutes in the oven and peeled off the skin afterwards. I used homemade turkey stock instead because I had some left over from Thanksgiving. This soup turned out so wonderful. It is my new favourite! My boyfriend gave it 5/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley M. Fowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This has become my go to pumpkin soup recipe, great all round. After experimentation I use whole lemon grass stalks which I crush ensuring the root end isn't damaged so it stays together whilst you cook, I fry this with one and a half teaspoons of garlic and two teaspoons of fresh chilli paste and some pre soaked kaffir lime leaves. I brown my onions separately. I also roast the pumpkin prior to adding everything to the pot for a good simmer, I feel the roasting really brings out the pumpkins flavour. Just before serving I stir through around a quarter cup of chopped fresh coriander and four tablespoons of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aidan Sharples

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Made this because we got winter squash and lemongrass in our CSA box, and I had no idea what to do with the lemongrass ... saw this and almost all the ingredients (including the chilies) were in our box. Kids and husband loved it, very flavorful. I only used half the chilies (I'm a wimp) and a butternut squash, and it worked out beautifully. Will make again as we have butternut squash coming in from our garden as well. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I loved this soup. I used canned curry paste instead of the chilies, lemongrass and garlic. I plan to make it again. It's still good reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I didn't have the lemongrass on hand, and I used onion instead of shallot, because that's what I had. I used pureed pumpkin and the cream of coconut, then shredded cilantro and basil, added a dash of sucanat (brown sugar). EXCELLENT soup. Oh yeah and I didn't have chilis so I used cayenne and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Served at a potluck and universally liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHMEJIAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I agree with Michelly2's review - try this recipe as is before messing with the ingredients. The recipe is good as is. After trying it that way, I opted to add twice the amount of lemongrass (paste) and 6 garlic cloves for personal tastes. Anyone who has had authentic, Asian Thai pumpkin soup will enjoy this recipe. If you add chicken, brown sugar, etc, then it is no longer Thai pumpkin soup - just pumpkin soup. Thanks for the recipe, Brigit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keena_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Once made, it seemed to be missing something flavor-wise, or perhaps it was just a bit too subtle. So I used other reviewers' suggestions and added ginger and extra garlic. I also added some peanut butter which I thought was a good addition. I reserved a little of the coconut cream and swirled some of that on top for decoration and sprinkled with crushed peanuts. Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Used prepared pumpkin instead of cooking in the chicken broth so to get more of the chicken flavor without thinning the soup, I added 1/2 cup of broth and 1 de-boned chicken thigh an pureed in blender. I subtituted a habanero for red pepper and lemon zest for the lemon grass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
GREAT soup! Everyone LOVED it! I used butter not oil. Lemongrass is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States