Thai Pork with Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
We loved this recipe ~ instead of using pork chops, we used pork tenderloin which we marinated with olive oil, cumin, ginger, cayenne and garlic then grilled the whole tenderloin and served it with the peanut sauce over rice. Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This was a first for me to make something Thai. Since I don't really know what thai food should taste like, I am not sure I would be a fair judge of this recipe. I made this for my family and it was easy to make. I doubled the sauce part and I would encourage you to do the same. The flavors were interesting and different...I would say different-good. Instead of using the red bell peppers as a garnish, I put them in the sauce during the last couple of minutes with half of the green onions to flavor the sauce alittle more. I garnished the meat with the other half of the green onions and sprinkled the peanuts on top as the recipe says. It was a beautiful presentation. My brother in law has had thai with this paticular peanut sauce and he said it was excellent. I thought the meat would have a "bite" to it with the red pepper in it, but I hardly noticed it. My 2 year old and 5 year old ate it with no complaint about hotness. I would of preferred it alittle hotter, so next time I will increase that- or maybe just put the red pepper on the table for each person to decide how hot they want it. Be sure not to overcook the pork so it will remain moist. If you have alittle pink in the middle when you pull it from the pan, as it sits it will continue cooking on it's own while you are preparing the sauce..it will be perfectly done and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
thanks for a fine, "Thai style" pork chop recipe that is both tasty, and easy to put together. BTW, for those who were put off by the extra coconut milk, this is a clue; put the excess in a small freezer proof container and freeze it. The stuff lasts for about a half a year that way, and if you don't use it in that amount of time it is too bad. I too made a bit more sauce, and I used some cashews instead of the dry roasted peanuts. But that was not for any reason other than I had the one and not the other? Thanks, good stuff. Clint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was delicious. I served it with Peanut Butter Noodles on this website which was a bit of a mistake because both recipes have VERY strong/rich flavors... nevertheless, these chops were superb and I will definitely make them again..... maybe with some plain white rice (for the sauce) and a salad with a miso dressing for an Asian flair. Oh, the sauce went from thin to a bit over-thick quickly, so watch out for that .. .espec if you are wanting something to pour over rice. Maybe, if making rice, I'll double the sauce so there's enough to pour over the rice. The sauce was really yummy and reminded me SO MUCH of the food I get at my yummy local Thai restaurant. EDIT: Made this again, (no red peppers for us!) tripled the sauce and made rice. Tripling gave me a bit too much sauce, doubling would probably be perfect. Poured the sauce over the rice with the onions/cilantro/peanuts. Still a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
My family quite enjoyed this - but I have to say I found the peanut sauce a little overpowering. I would probably make this again, but add a bit more coconut milk or water to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I was tempted to try this recipe using chicken instead of pork, but my husband was in the mood for pork, so I made it exactly as written and it didn't disappoint! Yum! What a wonderful and tasty dish! We really enjoyed the flavor combinations and will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I didn't try this myself, but my husband loved it. I made 1.5 times the amount of sauce and it was perfect. I didn't bother measuring the amounts of red pepper, onion, nuts, and cilantro for garnish--just did it to taste (i.e., a lot of each). EDITED: I tried this finally and it's very good. Served with Thai fried rice and lots of crushed nuts, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by KANANICOOKS
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Wow, this was great! I made it exactly as the recipe stated. All three kids had seconds and even my picky husband enjoyed it. I think I would have liked some garlic or cayenne in the sauce (I like spicey food) but then my kids wouldn't have liked it as much. The topping of pepper, onion peanuts and cilantro on really takes this from good to fantastic. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Yum! I have made this twice now, the second time round I doubled the quantity of sauce as it's so delicious. The only thing I change is the nuts. I cannot stand the dry roasted peanuts in shops so I just buy regular salted peanuts and dry fry them in a pan to toast them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is really good; I just think it is missing garlic. I didn't even realize there was none in the recipe until I was eating it! I would also add some lime juice. It took longer than stated to cook my pork chops all the way through. I made two large pork chops and doubled the sauce- there was a little too much but I'd rather have too much. We used it on our brown rice. Omitted most of the salt and used light coconut milk and natural peanut butter. I cooked the red pepper (a whole one, pork) with the pork, too. This was a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States