Thai Pork with Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was decent, however, I thought the cumin was a bizarre spice for thai? I had run out of cayenne, darn it, so I just went without. I use organic peanut butter and chicken stock and sometimes I need to remember to salt a little bit heavier with those. Pretty decent dish, but I would not make it if you don't have the peanuts, cilantro, onions and bell peppers. They are the icing on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
If you are serving with rice you will want to AT LEAST double the sauce. Next time I serve this (with jasmine rice) I am planning on 3X the sauce. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This sauce is absolutely delicious! I didn't make the sauce for pork...we used chicken thighs instead and it was amazing! A new favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Turned out bland, not much taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CYoder
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I had to change quite a bit...I thought it was bland when I tried it as it cooked. So, I added more of every seasoning, then added minced garlic too. I left out the honey, thank goodness, plenty sweet without it. I tend to like my peanut sauces more spicy than sweet. The cilantro and chopped peanuts make it! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
this was really good. i added some fish sauce to it also. sprinkled with the chopped green onion, cilantro and one sliced jalepano. i didn't have any nuts in the house, i think that would have really put it over the top. i will make this again. i also, doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Success on the home front. I used tenderloin instead of chops. I had no garnishes other than chives! Did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murman23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
excellant taste and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Hmmm. Made this for dinner tonight. Neither my fiance or I cared for it, although he liked this more than I did.... I must say that the presentation is GORGEOUS tho! :) I followed JDOERINGPA's directions exactly. I thought about adding my bell peppers to my sauce (to soften), but am really glad I didn't. I enjoyed thier crunchiness, and, other than the green onion, peanut and cilantro garnishes, they are the only thing I liked about this dish. My fiance and I both disliked the peanut sauce. He thought it was too peanutty and I just didn't like it (I guess I'm not a peanut sauce fan...). As April B. did, I too used up a couple packs of McD's peanut sundae topping to sprinkle on top of my chops (great idea!). Tip: To keep your chops warm while preparing your sauce, place them in a baking dish and pop into a slightly warm (i.e. 200 degrees) oven. They won't overcook, but will retain their heat until serving time. Also, if you dredge your pork chops in a plastic Zip-lock bag (mix your flour / spices directly in bag beforehand), you'll have one less dish to clean! Carrot rice (Sowmya) and homemade Thai iced tea (sweet tea with a little half-n-half mixed in) was a nice complement. I LOVE Thai cuisine, but apparently not all of it. Oh well! Thanks anyways. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and we hought it was good, but not great. I'd give it a 3.5 stars, and I'm bumping that up to 4 because I made some small modifications that may have affected how I felt about the dish. I didn't really change the recipe, but rather how I served it. I bought thin, boneless fast fry chops and cut them into strips, and used all the other ingredients plus thin egg noodles to do a stir-fry. I doubled the sauce (I put a little bit less than double of the broth and coconut milk, and a little bit more than double PB and honey) partly because of the other reviews and because I was mixing the noodles right into it. I might suggest to anyone wanting to do something similar to use rice instead or a thin spaghetti rather than the very fine egg noodles, because they got kind of mushy with the sauce (but that's of course not the fault of the recipe). This had good flavour though, but I think it's missing something I can't put my finger on. Even though I added more PB than called for it, I didn't taste it too much and I like a nice peanut buttery sauce. I also added more ginger when stir frying the pork as well as red pepper flakes, but it still didn't have any kick. I'm not a spicy food person, but I think maybe that's what I missed here, a lil kick. My fave part was the crunchy peanut and green onion topping - it was nice! (I didn't have any cilantro, maybe that also would add a lil somethin somethin to this). Overall, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States