Thai Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Wow, this is a FANTASTIC sauce! I used a gourmet habanero peanut butter so it was extra spicy. I also added maybe 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil because I really like the flavor of it. Was hesitant to splurge on the bottle of fish sauce, but I'm glad I did because I will be making this sauce often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I substituted almond butter for peanut, and coconut sugar for cane. Ridiculously easy and delicious. I tossed it with spaghetti squash, sautéed veggies, and chicken. This will be a regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Lot's of flavor and very easy to make. 5 Stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Though a non-cilantro lover, I loved this! Doubled the peanut butter for more protein. Also added 1 1/2 t. of sesame oil, 1 lime's juice, extra ginger, much less sugar, no cayenne. Cucumber and red bell pepper shreds helped lighten up the pasta part. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I do a cilantro pesto of my own. just cilantro, olive oil, garlic. That way I can add what I need to flavor my food, be it mexican, thai or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I've been using recipes from this site for years and have never reviewed any of them until now. This is amazing stuff! I read the other reviews and followed some of the suggestions, just because I knew I'd like the additions. I added the zest and juice of a small lime, a little sesame oil and a healthy squirt of srirracha. I didn't have fish sauce, so I substituted soy sauce. Since I didn't have fresh ginger, I used the ginger that comes in a tube that you can find in the refrigerated section in the produce department. If you're debating on making this recipe, stop reading now and go make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
We loved this. I was worried that the cilantro would be overwhelming, but not so. There was no fish sauce at our local grocery store, so used soy sauce. I also added a little lemon juice. My hubby raved about it. Ate 3 bowls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made the recipe exactly as written, and we were pleased with the sharp, sweet and spicy flavors. I added part of the pesto to spaghetti noodles with shredded carrot and green onion - tasty, but dry (added some sesame oil at the table). The other portion of pesto I brushed on thin chicken breast cutlets and grilled - amazing! Pesto had a tendency to burn at the end (and get bitter), so possibly bake instead of grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is great! I made a few small changes: 2 tbsp olive oil + 1 tbsp sesame oil, added 1 lime's worth of juice, and a little srirracha sauce to pump up the spice. We didn't have any fish oil on hand, but soy sauce worked as a good replacement. This is so great I'm making it for the second time in 2 weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was awesome after adding salt and lime juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States