Thai Peanut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Much too salty and followed recipe. Sauce is like mud.Horrible flavor no one liked it. I have cooked similar style recipes and they are much better. Recipe needs adjustment for flavor and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I liked this, hubby did not. He doesn't care for really salty foods...and I love them. I tripled the sauce which could explain WHY it was so salty (9 tblspoons of soy sauce). I used rice vinegar. Brown rice. I will probably not make this again. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5 in family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I really liked the sauce. I almost doubled the amount of cayenne because my fiance and I like our Thai pretty spicy. Super easy and really good! Be sure to make extra sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was alright. Hubs liked it, but I didn't. The spices were all off I thought. I'm willing to give this another shot though with some tweaks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Sauce was bland when made as stated. I added 1/3 brown sugar and a teaspoon or two of sesame oil. As per other reviews, I made enough rice and chicken for the three of us, and left the rest of the quanities the same. Pretty good when played with a bit. A good starting place for a great chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I accidentally added an extra tablespoon of peanut butter, which is why the sauce tasted way too peanutty. I halved the cayenne for my kids, but next time would up it a bit because I couldn't taste any spice at all. This was pretty bland but I'll make it again and try cutting the pb and adding more cayenne. Also, I added fresh garlic, but just used ginger powder since that's all I had on hand. I will also add a bit of sugar like someone else suggested, I think this dish could use a little sweetness...or maybe a twist of fresh o.j.???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscoffeymaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Delicious dish. I serve it over white rice, alongside honey-glazed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMIEBECK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Overall, not bad, but it definitely needs adjustments. I doubled the sauce, as almost everyone else said, and I might even triple it next time, and also decreased the amount of garlic and ginger. My biggest problem was even with low-sodium soy sauce, it was WAY too salty. I would prefer for the sauce to be sweeter, so I'm going to try to substitute at least 1 TB of the soy sauce for brown sugar and water next time. With a few alterations, this could be a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Sauce was wayyy too thick. I would skip the corn starch completely and lessen the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I gave this recipe a four, only because I altered it, and then it is a five :) I made my peanut sauce with 3 tablespoons soysauce, 3 tablespoons peanut butter (I love peanut butter), 2 teaspoons rice vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon chili pepper (I didn't have cayenne and didn't feel like buying it just for this recipe), 1 teaspoon ground ginger, 1-2 tablespoons honey (i felt like the sauce needed a bit of sweetness), and 1/2tsp of red pepper flakes (to taste). Also, I saw that they put red peppers in the picture, but not in the recipe, so I included these. I used only two chicken breasts, and it seemed like one batch of sauce was enough for that, so i could see if you were making it with 4, you would need more sauce. I'm making it again tonight, and am quite excited - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States