Thai Peanut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I accidentally added an extra tablespoon of peanut butter, which is why the sauce tasted way too peanutty. I halved the cayenne for my kids, but next time would up it a bit because I couldn't taste any spice at all. This was pretty bland but I'll make it again and try cutting the pb and adding more cayenne. Also, I added fresh garlic, but just used ginger powder since that's all I had on hand. I will also add a bit of sugar like someone else suggested, I think this dish could use a little sweetness...or maybe a twist of fresh o.j.???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscoffeymaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Delicious dish. I serve it over white rice, alongside honey-glazed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMIEBECK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Overall, not bad, but it definitely needs adjustments. I doubled the sauce, as almost everyone else said, and I might even triple it next time, and also decreased the amount of garlic and ginger. My biggest problem was even with low-sodium soy sauce, it was WAY too salty. I would prefer for the sauce to be sweeter, so I'm going to try to substitute at least 1 TB of the soy sauce for brown sugar and water next time. With a few alterations, this could be a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Sauce was wayyy too thick. I would skip the corn starch completely and lessen the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I gave this recipe a four, only because I altered it, and then it is a five :) I made my peanut sauce with 3 tablespoons soysauce, 3 tablespoons peanut butter (I love peanut butter), 2 teaspoons rice vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon chili pepper (I didn't have cayenne and didn't feel like buying it just for this recipe), 1 teaspoon ground ginger, 1-2 tablespoons honey (i felt like the sauce needed a bit of sweetness), and 1/2tsp of red pepper flakes (to taste). Also, I saw that they put red peppers in the picture, but not in the recipe, so I included these. I used only two chicken breasts, and it seemed like one batch of sauce was enough for that, so i could see if you were making it with 4, you would need more sauce. I'm making it again tonight, and am quite excited - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was a very good and easy recipe. Although it really needed an extra kick to be thai! I really like the peanut addition though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was a great dish! I routinely use Peanut Satay in a jar for peanut chicken and this was much better. I served it with jasmine rice and added a can of coconut milk to make more of the sauce. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This recipe is really good. The sauce is perfect. Not too spicy but just right. I made a double batch of sauce so there was extra to pour over the rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I agree that this is not Thai. I doubled the sauce (except cayenne), and shouldn't have - too strong! Maybe I should have stretched the sauce with chicken stock. My little kids couldn't eat this (and they are not too picky, and usually made to eat whatever is put in front of them!) - my 3 yr old called it yucky chicken. I definitely won't make again, but gave 3 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ste. Anne, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
An outstanding meal. Exchanged the white wine vinegar for rice vinegar, added 1/4-1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar (2x heaping 2 tbsp measure), added 1/2 teaspoon powdered ginger with chicken, then again at end to enhance flavour--I can't wait to have the leftovers for dinner tomorrow night! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States