Thai Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Where do I begin? First - this is a solid recipe and the flavors are all there but need to be intensified. I would suggest using Grape Seed oil that can withstand higher heat, has a neutral flavor and is healthy like OO. I mixed up the 'sauce' ingredients and decided to up the garlic and ginger - the orange was really subdued so I added orange zest (would use marmalade the OJ concentrate next time) Put some of the sauce on the chicken to marinate with the cornstarch instead of adding it later. I used Sambal chili paste instead of chili flakes. Additional vegetables like pepper and onions add a lot to this recipe. Thanks for an inspiring recipe - all the right flavors it just needs more of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I’m hit or miss when it comes to Thai food, but this was awesome! I made a few changes, but mostly to the cooking process, not the ingredients. I felt that adding the crushed red pepper flakes at the end of the cooking process would not give it the kind of spicy kick it deserves, so I started by sauteing the crushed red pepper along with the garlic in the olive oil for about 3 minutes before adding the carrots and ginger. This infuses the oil with flavor and gives the dish an even and consistent spice. It also brings out the heat in the red pepper. After the carrots started to soften, I pushed them to the side and added the chicken, omitting the second dose of olive oil. I’m not big on oily dishes and have found that I can cut it or even eliminate it most of the time. As the chicken browned, I stirred it with the carrots and added the rest of the ingredients except the orange juice. I used the orange juice to whisk the cornstarch in and added it last. Serve over noodles and you will have a sweet orange dish that ends with a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
We really enjoyed this. As others have said, the orange flavor is quite subtle and if I had had some marmalade, I probably would have thrown a tablespoon or so in. Nonetheless, it's fine as is. My only changes were to sauté the red peppers with the garlic and ginger (as someone else suggested) and I did dust the chicken with cornstarch prior to frying. Oh - and I only used 1T or cornstarch at end to thicken sauce. Will definitely make again - thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Great dish with lots of flavor. If you are someone reading this who does not like tweaks - STOP reading right now! My DH and I loved this recipe. It was every bit as good as take out. As I stated above, I read the other reviews and made some changes. I had 2 small chicken breast, so I added red, orange and green pepper and sliced a small onion to the mix. This added a lot more bulk, but all with fresh veggies. I did double the sauce as I was serving this over sushi rice and I wanted it saucy. Rather than add water, I replaced it with more orange juice and mixed the cornstarch with it. That worked great and thickened up the sauce nicely. I also added a heaping tablespoon of orange marmalade, because I had an opened jar. I added peanuts to mine after I dished it up as DH does not like nuts in his Asian food. I also zested a fresh orange before serving. I did use all the ingredients listed, just more of them and added a few extras. Really very happy with how this dish turned out. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
HUGE hit here! My first time using peanuts in a chicken dish. Wow. Unbelievably good! It could use a bit more heat(did I just say that?!) but really a very good, kid friendly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was SO good. Nice thick sauce and very tasty. Could definitely kick it up a notch, but was very good like it was, following the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I thank you for such a wonderful recipe, I will never again grab take out food. I used a fresh orange and the zest, doubled the ginger and garlic and added a yellow pepper. Zipped it up with szechuan chili sauce. Next time I am going to add snap peas. This is absolutely one of our new favorites! Thank you again! The whole family loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patticakes43
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Simply delicious! A change in plans brought me to this recipe and I am so glad it did. Easy to make and full of flavor. The aromas emanating from this recipe were a clear indication of how yummy this recipe was going to be. I was a little worried about whether it was going to be too sweet because of two things, that were totally on me. 1) I had to use squeezed tangerine juice, instead of orange juice. And 2) had to use honey roasted peanuts. Suffice it to say, this was a non issue. The only changes i made to the actual recipe was I only added a few pinches of the red pepper, to cut down on the heat. And I only needed 1 tbsp of cornstarch, which was enough to thicken the sauce to my liking. Great recipe that will definitely go into my dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I'm always looking for new recipes for chicken breasts. This was delicious! I will definitely cook it again. Based on suggestions from other reviewers, I sauteed the red pepper with the carrots and substituted extra OJ for some of the water. It was a perfect combination of spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was yummy!! I doubled the recipe. Added broccoli to the carrot mixture. I didn't have peanuts so I subbed 2 tbs of peanut butter. I did add significant salt and pepper. Very nice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States