Thai Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Although I do like peanut butter, I found this recipe way to peanut buttery to eat as a main dish with rice. If I was to make it again, I would have other dishes with it to cut the taste a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Embrun, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Oh my stars, is this ever FANTASTIC!! The flavors are so rich and complex. Since some of my family claims to dislike Thai food, I cheated by using cayenne instead of the chili sauce and calling it "Chinese stir fry." My husband proceeded to eat 4 helpings, and my extremely picky 7 year old even wanted seconds. Other than subbing for the chile sauce, I added all the ingredients called for except I didn't have rice noodles and used regular spaghetti instead. I also tossed in a generous handful of broccoli--yum! I made my own peanut sauce using the Thai Peanut Sauce recipe on this site and adding garlic powder as suggested in another review here by someone making their own. I also used rice wine vinegar in place of the sherry. I wound up halving the recipe because my wok wouldn't have held the entire amount called for, but we still got a big enough bowl of noodles so that after dishing up almost 7 servings total, we still have enough left for lunch tomorrow. Thanks so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
very tasty dish! I used water chestnuts and bok choy in place of the bell peppers. I also didn't have red chile sauce so I just used 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes instead. Oh, and i did add a few dashes of lemon juice at the end too. Also, I followed the peanut sauce recipe that one of the reviewers posted and it was way to peanut-buttery for me, so i'll cut the peanut butter in half next time. One reviewer mentioned that this dish was gloggy. To cut down on the gloggy factor I did not mix the noodles and chicken mixture together before serving, put them in separate bowls. Will make this dish again for sure! It's fun to make, you've gotta try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yum! Left out the cucumber (didn't seem like it would go) and garnished with peanuts along with the sesame seeds. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Didn't have chicken. Added zucchini, 2 carrots, fish sauce, lime juice. No cuke, mushroom, chile sauce or oyster sauce. Maybe less pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Very good! I used the peanut sauce recipe mentioned in the first review, but it was VERY thick even when I kept adding water and a little lime juice. Finally I added about a 1/2 c. of chicken broth and that was better. Still, it thickens over time. I skipped the cucumbers because my husband hates them and I didn't think I'd care for them cooked. I substituted broccoli and snow peas for the mushrooms too. I had no oyster sauce, so I skipped that. I couldn't find anything that said "red chile sauce" but I did find a "thai-style chile sauce" and it was very good. This has a great flavor. I toasted the sesame seeds which are a great touch. Crushed peanuts would also be delicious. Thanks for the recipe. I'll definitely make this again. It would go great with rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Great basic starter. Didn't have all the ingredients so I did change a few things. No chicken wanted veg dish used red,green,orange,and yellow peppers. Made fresh peanut sauce from AR. Didn't have red chile sauce so I used Kung Pow Sauce for the spice. next time will have all ingredients and will rate then. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Kellstein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overgaard, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Fantastic! I'm enjoying this dish as I type this review. Tastes like it was made in a high-quality Thai restaurant, not in my very own kitchen! I love my stir-fries to have very strong flavors and to be fiery hot, so I was a bit more liberal with the ginger and hot sauce. I also varied the veggies a bit, I honestly think this recipe would go great with any your heart desires. I omitted the cucumbers but wouldn't omit the red and green peppers- they really add something essential to the medley of flavors. Oh, I also added a splash of orange juice just before serving, it gave a very nice citrusy tang. Next time I'd like to try this over rice. This dish will be made often, thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is good, fine, quite similar to other Asian dishes I have prepared. I wasn't blown away but I certainly ate all my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Husband thought it was 4 star. Turned out a tad soggy, I probably overcooked the noodles. Also, I think the type of peanut sauce you use affects the taste. I may try making it as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States