Thai Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Insanely delicious! I'd give it more stars if I could, & so would our group of cabin guests that scarfed down this noodley-goodness. Makes a HUGE bowl. Took 7 adults 2 days to finish this off! One guy ate it for breakfast! I did some things differently, because of convenience & what I had on hand & also personal preference. I used thin spaghetti noodles, broken into thirds. I think angel hair would be too wimpy for this sauce. Rice/cellophane noodles would work nicely,too. I used pre-packaged shredded cabbage, saves time. I grated my own carrots, easy & I think the pre-shredded ones are nasty tasting. I used two big carrots & discovered that was plenty. No need to peel them! Couldn't find blk. sesame seeds & was planning to use regular, toasted sesame seeds but forgot! Didn't miss 'em, either! I shredded 2 leftover lrg. grilled chix breasts instead of shrimp. I love shrimp but prefer chicken in this dish. Grilled shrimp would be tasty in here, though. I also added about 1 1/2 cups of pea pods, cut into thirds & microwaved for about 30 sec. w/ 2 TB.of water to take some of the "rawness" out, but still had some crunch. Yummy! Didn't have tahini, so skipped it & used 2 extra TB. of peanut butter. Also used about 1 cup of the sweet chili sauce. It's in the Asian section of your grocery store. Added 1/2 can of cream of coconut. Coconut milk works, too. WARNING: SKIP the 1 TB of salt! Soy sauce is enough salt! I used juice of 1 lime to fix it, but loved the lime in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
This one's a keeper! Made it "as is " the first time, and it was a hit. Subsequent times, I skipped the salt (lots in the soya sauce and peanut butter already), and added a bit of lime juice. Even better! Gluten-free spaghetti noodles hold up just fine in this recipe, and leftovers keep well. (Because unless you're feeding a small army, plan on leftovers. This recipe makes a ton. Use the biggest bowl you've got!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is a great go-to recipe and can be modified any number of ways to suit your taste. I added a tsp of Sriracha sauce but Thai garlic chile would be the same thing. Doubled the dressing per other suggestions - good call! Note: I make my own Tahini and it's super inexpensive. I buy sesame seeds from a bulk grocer for a few dollars a pound and toast in a cast iron skillet over low heat. Then into the food processor and grind away. Sometimes I add a few drops of sesame oil then store in a jelly jar in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dove Canyon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Great recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Make the dressing the day before to avoid that "it's missing something" feeling. Definitely use lite or low-sodium soy sauce. Makes a ton even using 1/2 box of angle hair pasta. Doesn't really need the shrimp but I love it, so in it went! Would be great with chicken, tofu, or left vegetarian. I didn't have tahini and avoided the mistake I've made in the past of adding more peanut butter. Just use the amount of pb stated and ignore the need to substitute anything for the tahini. Otherwise the pb flavor can be overwhelming. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Fast and yummy. I didn't have cabbage, tahini or black toasted sesame seeds so I skipped those and added more carrots. I did at lime and a mint garnish and both were a great improvement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
The peanut butter/ tahini combo with the chili sauce really makes this dish. I used imitation crab due to allergies, thai rice noodles instead of pasta, and added a healthy dose of siracha becuase we like things spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Love it! We have this once a week! The sauce amazing! I double the noodles, sauce, and use 2lbs of medium sized shrimp. Use fresh garlic, cut the soy sauce by just a bit, and squeeze with fresh lime just before serving. Sub different veggies depending on what you have. yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarkBlair

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Liberty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Used chicken, no tahini, white sugar for brown. Didnt measure and guestimated amounts for the sauce. you cant screw this one up.....Fresh lime to garnish makes it super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States