Thai Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Absolutely excellent sauce. I turned out surprisingly well. I am sure the recipe was great as written but did some subs to use what I had on hand and turned out great. Instead of shrimp, I used my microwave pressure cooker on chicken 6 minutes in a teaspoon each of soy sauce, rice wine vinegar and sesame oil and thinly sliced and then cut into bite size lengths. Since I had "Excellent Flour Stick" - a quick boil noodle from the Philipines I picked up in a previous asian market spree - I used that. The "noodle" has coconut oil in complimenting the sauce. I used Mann Broccoli slaw instead of napa cabbage and mini salad multicollar peppers. I also used a teaspoon of sabal oelek instead of a sweet chili sauce and upped the brown sugar to a tablespoon and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I only made one alteration... omitted tahini bc didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I used sunflower nut butter instead of peanut butter to make it allergy friendly. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish. My husband did not, but he doesn't really like the flavors in Thai dishes. I used all red bell pepper because that is what I had on had and chicken instead of shrimp. I also added extra Thai chili sauce - I love that stuff! It was better after sitting for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is such a great salad!!! Very healthy and everyone, even my husband loved it. This is a keeper. I didn't have any Tahini but used oyster sauce instead. Don't know if that made a difference but I know oyster is really good in oriental cooking. Yum you want to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Fantastic! I used buckwheat soba noodles since I didn't have regular pasta, and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I made this dish for my daughter for a class project on Thailand. We made it with chicken instead of shrimp. Turned out great!! Loved it!! Also took it to a chruch potluck and had 4 people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Really quite good! Restaurant quality even. I have 2 suggestions: don't add the salt to the dressing, as it is plenty salty already. (And if you taste the dressing before you put it on the salad, don't be scared off by the saltiness of it - once it is on the salad, the veggies soak up the dressing and "cut" the salt taste). Also, if you like ginger, I suggest grating about 1 tbsp. into the dressing, as ginger tends to flavour Asian/fusion recipes well. One last comment: it does take quite a bit of time to chop all the veggies, using a pre-packaged mix as one reviewer suggested is a fantastic idea! A great recipe, thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Ok, so as written, I gave the recipe 4 stars. With the changes I made the second go-round it got 5 stars. This was very mild to be a thai salad but had great flavor. SO, the second time I doubled the sauce, added more chili sauce as well as some crushed red pepper and a little sriracha chili sauce (the stuff with the rooster on the bottle). It got rave reviews. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I made this for a cookout. I didn't add the shrimp and only had one yellow pepper at home and a few heads of broccoli. So I put the one pepper in and lightly cooked the broccoli instead. I also used chives from my garden instead of green onions. AMAZING. It was gone so quickly that I didn't even get to have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States