Thai Monkfish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This dish was fantastic i am not a huge fishlover and had not had monkfish before but this was lovely. I found the monkfish to be meaty and mild in flavour the sauce was wonderfully fragrant with the coconut, lime and heat hitting every taste bud. I made the dish exactly to the recipe, there was a lot of sauce but this was delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I've never seen monkfish at the store so I made this with cod plus a few shrimp. As written, it was so bland. I ended up adding more red paste, more fish sauce and a splash of soy sauce. Also threw in a can of straw mushrooms. Turned out ok but definitely needed some tweaking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Excellent! After cutting the monkfish into chunks I pounded it to make it a uniform size and to make it tender; monkfish can be a bit chewy, like lobster. Don’t be tempted to substitute light coconut milk for regular. The fat in the coconut is a healthy fat and the flavor and creaminess of regular coconut milk cannot be beat. I squeezed a little more lime over each individual serving and it was delicious served over cauliflower rice with fresh asparagus on the side. I will definitely make this quick, easy, and healthy fish dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I added 3 cloves of garlic with the onion, used lite coconut milk, and increased the heat to 1/4 c. curry paste. I served over Jasmine rice, with a dollop of Greek plain yogurt, and a wedge of fresh lime. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was really really good and simple to make. We used fresh halibut and substituted Thai green curry paste and green peppers because that was what we had on hand. We served it over long-grain brown rice and it really was a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Fantastic!!! Totally authentic, restaurant quality Thai Red Curry Sauce. This was so simple, but so delicious. I made it with sea bass instead of monkfish, because I had some fresh. The following week I tried it with shrimp. Amazing! I'm sure it would be great with chicken as well. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
It was lacking extra zing. I think it could have used some freshly squeezed lemon juice to add some tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
So simple, and such an impressive, delicious result. Definitely try this recipe! I was surprised at how much the last 3 ingredients really enhanced the flavors of the dish. My first attempt at Thai cooking was a success! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
So I thought this was great but my guests were blown away by it. They kept asking me if I really made this.... Not sure how I feel about that but it gives this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milktoast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
had to do a bit of improvising with this, but do not think it strayed off the recipes' path too much. i didn't have peanut oil, so i used veggie oil and 1 tsp chunky peanut butter. cut back on the red curry past to 1 1/2 tsp. for personal preference. i don't think we could have eaten it with 3 TBS. used lite coconut milk to save on calories, but i'm afraid that might be where the umph might lay. the dish, while spicy, was bland. if i make this again, i'll use regular coconut milk. served over rice. thanks for the post meg76.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States