Thai Monkfish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
It was lacking extra zing. I think it could have used some freshly squeezed lemon juice to add some tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was great, didnt know I could make something this good @ home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
had to do a bit of improvising with this, but do not think it strayed off the recipes' path too much. i didn't have peanut oil, so i used veggie oil and 1 tsp chunky peanut butter. cut back on the red curry past to 1 1/2 tsp. for personal preference. i don't think we could have eaten it with 3 TBS. used lite coconut milk to save on calories, but i'm afraid that might be where the umph might lay. the dish, while spicy, was bland. if i make this again, i'll use regular coconut milk. served over rice. thanks for the post meg76.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was a fantastic curry- the flavours were intense but not overpowering. The fish stayed chunky in the sauce and it had just the right amount of spice. I served this with green beans over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Needs more curry paste and fish sauce, but otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This dish was fantastic i am not a huge fishlover and had not had monkfish before but this was lovely. I found the monkfish to be meaty and mild in flavour the sauce was wonderfully fragrant with the coconut, lime and heat hitting every taste bud. I made the dish exactly to the recipe, there was a lot of sauce but this was delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I loved this dish! I used Tilapia instead of monkfish and it turned out great. So quick and easy! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I've never seen monkfish at the store so I made this with cod plus a few shrimp. As written, it was so bland. I ended up adding more red paste, more fish sauce and a splash of soy sauce. Also threw in a can of straw mushrooms. Turned out ok but definitely needed some tweaking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Great recipe. Easy to follow. I have used it with the monkfish but also substituted for other fish (vietnamese rive cobbler). Always gets the thumbs up from friends and family when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Delicious, with a delicate and balanced flavor. Instead of using monkfish, I added frozen edamame beans and some vegetarian "chicken," and it was still wonderful and filling. My only regret is that I had to use dried cilantro in place of fresh, which I added with the curry paste. Using fresh cilantro as indicated would've made this a perfect five out of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kourteney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States