Thai Monkfish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
My favourite! Substituted hoisin sauce for fish sauce, and tilapia for monkfish. Used garlic, onions and peppers and mushrooms, and my family (even my 20month old granddaughter) loved it! I'm making it tonight with shrimp and putting it over basmati rice. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This was pretty delicious as written, but next time I might add some lime zest as well, to add a bit of that citrus note that is present in real Thai cuisine because of the lemongrass. Otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Very easy recipe to follow! The only ingredient I didn't use is peanut oil and lime juice. Instead I used corn oil, artificial lime juice and frozen pacakged fish. It still came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Extremely easy to make and tasty dish. Be careful with the amount of curry paste you use, begin with a smaller amount and add more to taste. :) We upped the amount of monkfish a bit to serve 4 but kept the rest of the ingredients the same. There was still lots of sauce to go around. Served with steamed white rice and steamed baby green asparagus tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilkenny, County Kilkenny, Ireland
Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is fabulous. I confess to tweaking EVERY recipe I try, but this one I barely altered. Added sliced cremini mushrooms, 2T white wine when adding green curry paste... and that's it. Delicious -- would give 6 stars if possible. THanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe. I made this exactly as written but with cod and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Excellent! After cutting the monkfish into chunks I pounded it to make it a uniform size and to make it tender; monkfish can be a bit chewy, like lobster. Don’t be tempted to substitute light coconut milk for regular. The fat in the coconut is a healthy fat and the flavor and creaminess of regular coconut milk cannot be beat. I squeezed a little more lime over each individual serving and it was delicious served over cauliflower rice with fresh asparagus on the side. I will definitely make this quick, easy, and healthy fish dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I made this tonight. It was easy to prepare. I used Coconut Milk Lite (by KAME) and Thai Kitchen Red curry paste. It was delicious. I will make this again and again. Can anyone suggest another fish to use in this recipe? The monkfish is hard to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Fantastic!!! Totally authentic, restaurant quality Thai Red Curry Sauce. This was so simple, but so delicious. I made it with sea bass instead of monkfish, because I had some fresh. The following week I tried it with shrimp. Amazing! I'm sure it would be great with chicken as well. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Delish! I added pineapple to the curry and used lemon juice instead of lime... Everyone ate it including the fussy teenager. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States