Thai-Inspired Confetti Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was soooo good and so easy. It's going to be a staple at home. I left the spicy stuff out and since I don't have papaya I replaced it with a cup of Tropical Fruit Mix from Dole which has some papaya in it. It was delicious. Don't leave the cilantro out and don't forget to chop the peanuts. It makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Gorgeous, healthy and delicious! To make this papaya salad more authentic, I found a papaya that was still as green as possible and grated it to make up the bulk of the salad. I love peanuts on this but was disappointed to find last minute that I was out. I subbed toasted sesame seeds instead and it was good. The flavours in this salad are phenomenal. Thank you, I will make this again and again as it felt like I was right there in Thailand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Betsy
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
DELISH! I made this to use up some ingredients I had on hand, so my expectations weren't that high. Wow, was I thrilled with the results. I used mango and pineapple instead of papaya, had cashews instead of peanuts, and didn't have fish sauce so I upped the soy sauce slightly. With the changes, still a winner. I served over Jasmine rice-yum! My husband is always skeptical when I make these healthy, unique, ethnic dishes, and offers some constructive criticism. But this one left him speechless--he LOVED it. I will be making this again soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very nice sauce. I'm sorry to say it turns out I don't like papaya, but that's not your fault! I love mango though so will try with that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Excellent Salad. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipe is also called som tam, a thai dish. Very good for if you are dieting. I gave it 5 stars because it was great tasting(I cut down on the spice a pinch), easy to make, and my kids love the color in it. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebler78

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This salad was amazing! Very refreshing and light. I made the salad about an hour before serving. This let the dressing be soaked up by the veggies and papaya and blended the flavors very well. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I make this salad all the time but add more fruit (all of the tropical variety, whatever's at the store, usually pineapple and sometimes some peaches too. My current roommate is allergic to papaya, so I've been improvising lately). The longer it sits, the spicier it gets. Because I can't always get the fish sauce for the dressing, I usually make up my own using the juices from an orange, lemon, & grapefruit with fresh ginger, rice vineager, and a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
De-lish! I like to add a splash of soy sauce and olive oil to the dressing, and a can of rinsed black beans for a more hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very good. Left the fish sauce off since I am a vegetarian. Did slightly blanch the green beans. Everyone thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States