Thai Iced Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This tea is good, but it is certainly not the same sweet tea you receive at your favorite Thai restaurant, and I pretty much knew that going in, but figured I should try it before I rate it. There is a specific Thai tea that is used in this; and it's not black tea. It's actually a red tea and can generally be purchased at any Asian market. That tea makes ALL the difference in the world in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
The key to this is finding the right type of tea, not black tea. You can find this at an Asian market or whole foods/bristol farms. Thank you for posting this! Perfect on a warm summer day while cooking other Thai recipes from AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I think "black tea" needs to be more specific. Didn't taste like traditional thai tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
soooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
If you use Star Anise, Clove, and Vanilla in addition to black tea it's pretty darn close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
to have real Thia ice tea go to an asian food store i buy a bg of Thia tea. I have an ice tea maker & use it all the time I use 8 spoonfulls wen it done I put in some sugar & 1/2 & 1/2. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hairybear2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Wasn't what we were expecting. Did not have the traditional Thai Iced Tea flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Do not use black tea. Other wise it is very tasty. I will keep trying this w/ different teas until I find the one I like the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
delicious and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Not too bad, I went to a thai restaurant the other day and had thai tea and wanted to know the recipe so I asked the waiter and he said he uses Jasmine tea and coconut milk. Well both tea and milk was pretty difficult for me to find in my town but I subbed the tea for spiced chai and I could not find any sweet coconut milk so I got unsweetened and used honey for the sweetener. Its not the same but it taste pretty good in my oopinion :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshmallow_overlord

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Long Island Iced Tea

Watch how to make this tea-free, punch-packing alcoholic drink.

Long Island Iced Tea Cocktail

See how to make a potent cocktail that’s dangerously delicious.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States