Thai Hot and Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I only made a couple minor changes. I thought there needed to be more "broth to chicken" ratio..I added an extra cup of water and one chicken breast instead of two.Lacking the limes leaves I also used lime zest. The poster that put it in a tea ball...that was a great idea! The one hing Ifound though is not to leave the lime zest in very long. Short time = flavor. Too long = bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This soup was awesome!!! I only had 1/2 the amount of lemon grass stalks and only dried coriander leaves and it was still fantastic. I also added some diced tomatoes to finish it off. I would make this over and over. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walker, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a yummy soup! I found a fresh frozen finely chopped lemon grass in the oriental store that I keep handy all the time. I make a big batch of this soup and freeze it in individual containers. I just pop it in the microwave every time I crave for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'macooknotabaker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Soooooo good! And I can't believe how fast and easy it was. This is a definite keeper for me. My changes: used zest of 1 lime (in a tea ball so I could remove) instead of kaffir lime leaves, used half the chicken per another review, and added 4 slices ginger and canned straw mushrooms to make it like my local Thair restaurant. I love the broth so next time I will keep the chicken and mushroom amounts the same but make 1 1/2 times the amount of broth. Also, I'm storing the leftovers with the cilantro (coriander) and basil kept separately so I can add it fresh with every bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Excellent soup, I've been using this recipe for a while, when to the local thai food restaurant, which tasted the same as this recipe but a little sweeter, so I added 1 tablespoon of maple syrup, now it's a 5 star. Mind you I did double the recipe, so you might want to put less. Also I put half of the chicken required, otherwise it's too much. thank for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damrite

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very very good base, perhaps not as hot as the Thai restaurant versions I am used to. For more heat, I add one more teaspoon of tom yum, an extra cup of stock, and two ginger slices. And put sliced chicken in stock to cook. (I also omit the greenery.) Great soup for snoy weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was very good, much like you would get at a Thai Resturant....I had to add some red pepper flakes, because it wasn't quite spicy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This tastes just like the one I get in Thai restaurants. I made a vegetarian batch for my mom using vegetable broth and vegetarian fish sauce (in your asian market) and it turned out great if not better than the meat version. I didn't have to use the chiles since the tom yum paste is plenty spicy for me. I cut my lemon grass into thirds and used the back of a knife to break it and release the flavors in the soup. Next time I will try using the actual kaffir lime juice and add more things like canned baby corn, bamboo shoots, and tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fenglinh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I tried a lot of recipes before I discovered this one. A Thai woman told me that it tastes just like the Tom Yum that she used to have in Thailand! You can find the Tom Yum paste in Asian grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Kept to the recipe, but used Tofu instead of meat suggested. Really good. Have made it twice within 2weeks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States