Thai Ground Chicken Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I would have given this recipe 5 stars but I did have to do some additions of my own. With the extra's I have to admit this dish is going into "my favorete's" recipe book. First, I didn't have any peanut oil or Thai chili's so I used 2 tbsp sesame oil and 3tbsp. of sweet chili sauce instead. As for the garlic it sounded like a bit much so I just used 5 large cloves minced. The additions where 1/2 green pepper sliced, 1/2 red pepper sliced, 1/2 white onion sliced, 2 carrots peeled/ julienned, and 1/2 lime zest/juice which were added before the basil and allowed to cook coverd on med-low heat for about 5-10 mins. Since I did add these extra's I also upped the amount of soy sauce to 3 tsp. and the fish sauce to 3 tbsp. Served with Jasmine rice and garnished with lime wedges and green onion. Sooo good. I think I will stay home for Thai more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsamm7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. Per other reviews, I made the following changes: in place of peanut oil, used sesame oil, used about 5 cloves of minced garilc, used lean ground turkey in place of the ground chicken, used 3T of sweet chili sauce in place of the Thai chiles, 3 teaspoons of lite soy sauce, 3T of fish sauce, used the juice of 1/2 a lime, sliced up 1/2 green bell pepper, 1/2 red bell pepper, 1/2 onion, and julienned 2 baby carrots. Next time I will add more basil since it does shrink up a lot, and if you like it spicy add some red pepper flakes to taste. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I went to lunch at a Thai restaurant the other day and my friend ordered this dish. She let me taste it and I wished I had ordered it. This recipe came very close in flavor to the restaurant's. I didn't have any Thai chiles on hand, so I used jalapenos. Also added some ketsap manis, and some bok choy, just because we love it. I really liked this dish but it was a bit too hot for my husband. He didn't think he would like ground chicken and was surprised to find that he did. I will make this again, but will tone down the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was fantastic! I wondered about it, but decided to take a chance, and I'm glad I did. My husband especially loved it. I had dried (from the garden) basil, but it was still excellent. What a switch for a meal! The basil, chicken, and other spices just blend so well together. I don't think using ground pork or beef would give it the same flavor and character. If you have some ground chicken, take a chance on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Very yummy! I made minor changes to suit what i had on hand. I used ground turkey instead of chicken, I didn't have the thai peppers, so I used Lee Kum Kee Chili pepper sauce. I added some shredded cabbage as I was sauteeing the garlic...it was a great addition! We ate this in lettuce wraps.This would be great in potstickers also. Great base recipe! I would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I subbed 2 TB diced jalapenos for the thai chiles and added a tsp of thai chile paste. Only had a little fresh basil around, so I supplemented that with cilantro. Turned out great (3* HOT) and served on a bed of cabbage, it tasted like "larb gai."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolmonkshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I was not sure we could pull this off sucessfully with the limited ingredients we had, but regular soy sauce and sweet thai chili sause worked great and we put it on a bed of baby spinach borrowing the idea of wraps from the other reviewer. Smelling like garlic is worth it for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Thanks, this was so easy and tasty. I was worried about the heat from the nearly raw sliced Thai chilies so I added them to the hot oil whole and left them in to cook until the end. You can take them out any time during the cooking if you like, or use fewer than 12. I used the orange ones which I believe are milder than the green chilies. Still came out nicely hot. You may not want to eat them whole - too hot! Family member made that mistake. Had no peanut oil so used 1 TBSP grapeseed oil in my nonstick wok and at the end added a little sesame oil as suggested by other reviewers. I did add some sliced yellow bell pepper and 1 inch white pieces of green onion (scallion) to the hot oil at the beginning as well, for more veggies. I added the sliced green parts of the onion with the basil at the end. I also stirred in some sweet chili sauce at the end and a splash of limeade (no fresh limes around). Hubby says this is a keeper recipe! Next time will try to buy Thai basil as reviewers say it makes it really authentic tasting. Didn't know there was a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I've grown my own Thai basil for this recipe. It's both quick and easy. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was GREAT!! I had some extra ground chicken in the fidge and basil outside. I used it as a filling for lettuce wraps. I also used chili sauce since I didn't have the peppers. It was perfect for a warm Saturday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States