Thai Ground Chicken Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Instead of chiles, I used about half a bottle of Thai sweet chile sauce. Also, I didn't use any fish sauce and instead of basil I added cilantro. Very delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I used chili paste as that was all I had and cut back on the garlic a bit. I served it with the Chickeny Chickeny Rice from this site. It tasted so good, but my partner asked where the veggies were! Whoops. Next time I will serve it with the same rice but maybe add some corn, spring onion and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I went to lunch at a Thai restaurant the other day and my friend ordered this dish. She let me taste it and I wished I had ordered it. This recipe came very close in flavor to the restaurant's. I didn't have any Thai chiles on hand, so I used jalapenos. Also added some ketsap manis, and some bok choy, just because we love it. I really liked this dish but it was a bit too hot for my husband. He didn't think he would like ground chicken and was surprised to find that he did. I will make this again, but will tone down the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was GREAT!! I had some extra ground chicken in the fidge and basil outside. I used it as a filling for lettuce wraps. I also used chili sauce since I didn't have the peppers. It was perfect for a warm Saturday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I was not sure we could pull this off sucessfully with the limited ingredients we had, but regular soy sauce and sweet thai chili sause worked great and we put it on a bed of baby spinach borrowing the idea of wraps from the other reviewer. Smelling like garlic is worth it for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I subbed 2 TB diced jalapenos for the thai chiles and added a tsp of thai chile paste. Only had a little fresh basil around, so I supplemented that with cilantro. Turned out great (3* HOT) and served on a bed of cabbage, it tasted like "larb gai."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolmonkshoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I left out the chiles and added 1 tsp of sugar -- then my kids will eat it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
It was a nice, quick recipe. Instead of Thai chili I combined sweet chili sauce and Thai chili sauce. I also added 3-4 tablespoons of peanut butter to the mixture. It taste great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I had high hopes for this recipe from all the positive reviews on site. My husband and I LOVE Thai Basil Chicken and have ordered it many times at Thai restaurants. This was ok, but definitely did not taste like it came from a restaurant as some have stated. I will continue my recipe search and would probably not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
First to warn everybody... this is an excellent dish, but your whole house will reek of garlic afterward! That hasn't stopped me yet. Like the others suggested, I used Thai sweet chili sauce. I served this chicken with white rice, with some thinly slices carrots and slivered almonds on top, all wrapped in iceberg lettuce leaves. For leftovers it good in a Stroman's wrap. This dish is a nice break from the norm, sooo worth the smell! lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States