Thai Ground Chicken Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very good, very easy. I added all the garlic asked for and was glad I did. This is going into my rotation! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is a great recipe- my husband says it's his favorite dish I make. I subsitute ground turkey for the ground chicken b/c it's all my grocery has been selling for a while, and I think it actually adds more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Simple, easy and scrumptious. No changes except leaving out the fish sauce and adding a bit more soy sauce and some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was fantastic! I wondered about it, but decided to take a chance, and I'm glad I did. My husband especially loved it. I had dried (from the garden) basil, but it was still excellent. What a switch for a meal! The basil, chicken, and other spices just blend so well together. I don't think using ground pork or beef would give it the same flavor and character. If you have some ground chicken, take a chance on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. Per other reviews, I made the following changes: in place of peanut oil, used sesame oil, used about 5 cloves of minced garilc, used lean ground turkey in place of the ground chicken, used 3T of sweet chili sauce in place of the Thai chiles, 3 teaspoons of lite soy sauce, 3T of fish sauce, used the juice of 1/2 a lime, sliced up 1/2 green bell pepper, 1/2 red bell pepper, 1/2 onion, and julienned 2 baby carrots. Next time I will add more basil since it does shrink up a lot, and if you like it spicy add some red pepper flakes to taste. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I followed some of the recommendations based on other reviews: I used sesame oil instead of peanut oil and added lime juice and zest at the same time as the soy and fish sauce. I also cut both the soy and fish sauce in half and found it still a bit salty. Overall very tasty...I would make it again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is wonderful. I had to use chile sauce as I could not find actual chiles but everyone in my house loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Excellent recipe--very quick and easy to make. The ground chicken is flavorful, and in my opinion, much tastier than any ground turkey recipe I've ever made. I added some fresh ginger for some extra flavor, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
nice flavor but could use onions and red bell pepper (as other have suggested).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Very yummy! I made minor changes to suit what i had on hand. I used ground turkey instead of chicken, I didn't have the thai peppers, so I used Lee Kum Kee Chili pepper sauce. I added some shredded cabbage as I was sauteeing the garlic...it was a great addition! We ate this in lettuce wraps.This would be great in potstickers also. Great base recipe! I would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States