Thai Ground Chicken Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was delicious! It's amazing how so few ingredients can make such a favorful dish! I used the chili peppers and basil right from my garden and added broccoli, bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, carrots and mushrooms to make it a filling meal without the rice (a very WW friendly meal!). I added some lemon grass while cooking down all the veggies and added the juice of one lime when it was done. I've already made it twice (once with ground and once with cut up chicken breast) to freeze and have ready made lunches/dinners for the next couple of weeks. So easy and so yummy! Thank you for a fabulous 'base' Thai recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I just joined this site and I was very excited to try this recipe tonight as my first recipe here. But I must confess that I was a bit under-wowed, sorry. :( It seems a very good attempt, but I have in memory a ground chicken Thai basil that I had a year or so ago that was decidely more *something* than this. I dunno what is missing, though. :( (I hope it isn't just MSG :p ) For one thing, this recipe left my rice/plate/palate a whole lot more dry, so maybe I needed to increase all of the sauce ingredients? I did add a handful of sliced onion and sliced red bell pepper to this, and I didn't want to buy a whole package of Thai chilies that I found so went with one Jalapeno and about 1/2 tsp. of Sambal Olek. The spiceiness worked out okay but the overall flavor was still a little blah and the dish seemed dry overall. I need to revisit the restaurant where I first encountered this dish as *amazing* and try to figure out how it was pumped up. This was a good effort, though, so I thank you for it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was very good, but way too salty. (An hour later, I was searching for water) Possibly less fish sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valery K.
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Submitted this recipe. I appreciate all the positive reviews and suggestions. I did not include any vegetables in the recipe, because it usually does not come that way in the restaurant, but I do like the addition. I use any peppers available, subbing jalepenos out of the garden at times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valery K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I don't usually rate a recipe until I've made it as written, however I had to post. I just got through making and eating this dish and it was spectacular. I didn't have the thai chilis so I used about 2 tsp of sriracha... it was amazing. I served over buckwheat noodles... this is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauranack
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I didn't add the Thai chiles, instead I used Red Chili Dipping Sauce for some heat. I didn't have peanut oil, instead I used Veg Oil. Included to this dish are sauteed shallots, onions and mushrooms (did this in a seperate pan), squash and zucchini. Once the rice was cooked, I added it to the wok to coat w/ black soy sauce and all the other delicious flavors!!!! This is the 2nd time I've made this dish and will continue to make it. Next time, I'll add SHRIMP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I've grown my own Thai basil for this recipe. It's both quick and easy. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Great easy to put together recipe!!! I end up using red chili sauce instead of sliced chilies and corn/veg oil instead of peanut. Anyway you put it together it taste great over Jasmine rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Great flavor! I used chicken tenders instead of ground chicken and realized halfway through making that I didn't have fish sauce, which would have made it even better. I did add broccoli florets to steam near the end and served over brown rice. Everyone cleaned their plates! I went lighter on the chiles due to the children, but would love the heat for just me and my husband. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
only giving this a 4 coz i made so many changes, but this was phenomenal! i added onion at the beginning, as well as zucchini and mushrooms, sliced, and added brown sugar and fresh lemon juice/zest and sriracha to the sauce; used some random hot peppers i had on hand at the end with the basil. and then i used it for lettuce wraps. i'm SO glad i found this - a great way to use up basil and a great base recipe! and easy too! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States