Thai Ground Chicken Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Easy! I would recommend using low sodium soy sauce or Braggs Liquid Amino (tastes just like soy sauce!) if salt is an issue. I have Asian Fish sauce, which is probably salty on it's own and regular soy sauce is salty. So I will take my own advice next time. That would be my only complaint, if you can call it that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Thanks, this was so easy and tasty. I was worried about the heat from the nearly raw sliced Thai chilies so I added them to the hot oil whole and left them in to cook until the end. You can take them out any time during the cooking if you like, or use fewer than 12. I used the orange ones which I believe are milder than the green chilies. Still came out nicely hot. You may not want to eat them whole - too hot! Family member made that mistake. Had no peanut oil so used 1 TBSP grapeseed oil in my nonstick wok and at the end added a little sesame oil as suggested by other reviewers. I did add some sliced yellow bell pepper and 1 inch white pieces of green onion (scallion) to the hot oil at the beginning as well, for more veggies. I added the sliced green parts of the onion with the basil at the end. I also stirred in some sweet chili sauce at the end and a splash of limeade (no fresh limes around). Hubby says this is a keeper recipe! Next time will try to buy Thai basil as reviewers say it makes it really authentic tasting. Didn't know there was a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was fantastic! Restaurant quality! I couldn't find Thai peppers so I used Serrano and jalapeño. I also served this in red leaf lettuce cups. It was spicy, but my husband and I loved it!!! Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was quite good, and quite quick and easy to make. Made this because we just bought a potted Thai basil plant; Thai basil is not the same plant as regular basil, and this recipe will not taste authentic without it. Note too that "black soy sauce" is NOT the same as regular soy sauce, but more like ketjap manis (thick and sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Fantastic and so easy! The entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debb
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I loved the emphasis of garlic in this recipe. I also added shredded ginger and took out the chilies because my kids are sensitive to their spice. We used lettuce to wrap the meat and the adults just added sriracha sauce (Asian chili sauce) to their wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Really great dish. I have used serrano peppers as a substitute when my market didn't have thai chilies. It was better with the thai chilies, but serranos work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Not a bad combo of spices, but for me it seemed as if a lot of the liquid in the soy sauce and fish sauce evaporated and left the dish SUPER salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was delicious! I only used four chiles, so it was spicy, but not Thai spicy. A great addition to a Thai inspired meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Ate it like a taco, with lettuce as the shell. I used jalapenos instead of thai chiles, sesame oil instead of peanut oil and ground turkey instead of ground chicken. Also, I had some homegrown cabbage that needed using so I shredded that and added it with about 1/3 of an onion, minced. This really was fabulous! Yummy and really healthy! Try it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States