Thai Grilled Chicken with Sweet Chile Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This is such a great recipe! I lived in Thailand for a year -- this is just like the kind of delicious chicken sold by street vendors all over Thailand. The chili sauce is key! Note: If you want a short cut, you can buy it in asian groceries. The Thai name is "Nam Jem", but it's often sold as "sweet chili sauce for chicken." The Vietnamese name for this sauce is "Nuoe cham ga." We always have a bottle of it on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Very good, strong flavor. The dipping sauce is perfect. Make sure you follow the recipe on it, though. I thought it would be too thin, so I simmered it longer and it turned into a really tasty, but thick (the consistency of thick honey) concoction after it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I'm not even close to being an allstar cook, but when I made this for my husband, his mind was blown. The marinade was so awesome I had to sample the chicken even though I am a lifetime vegetarian!!! Now I'm going to try it out with tofu also. And the dipping sauce can't be beat... just don't put your face over the steaming pan as you are making it-- trust me on this one. Thank you Michelle for submitting this ten-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Quoted from 2 sources tonight, "This chicken is awesome." I made kabobs from marinated boneless skinless breasts (because thats what I had). Love the marinade - will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This chicken recipe is delicious! I think the key, though, is a long marinating time. Not by choice, I ended up marinating chicken thighs for 2 1/2 days. Wow! Fabulous flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This chicken is AWESOME! I used drumsticks; next time will try it using wings. Great for parties because it tastes good served at room temp, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This was terrific. I ended up marinating the chicken for 3 days, wow! My only disapointment was that I did not find the coconut milk to have really lent it's flavor to the meat. Next time, I will make some extra marinade and baste the chicken as it cooks. We really liked the dipping sauce (also poured it on the basmati rice I had made for this meal, yum!) I found there was a "mising link" between the chicken and the sauce. It liked it's sweetness, but I think next time, I will tie the 2 items together by adding fresh ginger both to the marinade and to the dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Pretty good chicken recipe. My husband used chicken breasts instead of half a chicken and marinated them in the curry mixture overnight. Next time he says he'd cut the amount of fish sauce in half because it made the chicken pretty salty. The dipping sauce is a thin (watery) sauce, but that's not uncommon for Vietnamese and Thai dishes. Overall, the dish had good flavor and was easy to make. Just reduce the fish sauce in the marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I found this an interesting way to marinate chicken and the flavours were quite pleasant. I put in extra cumin so that spice seemed stronger than any other flavour. I used a whole can of coconut milk, and even though it marinated overnight it didn't seem to come through. However, it created a very tender piece of meat and in the future I might play with the level and combination of ingredients. I used chicken breast meat and cut them into bite-sized pieces and skewered them over the grill. The sauce didn't seem to have as much appeal. The flavour from the chicken itself is probably good enough to stand on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Yummy-- I did make some changes-- used plain yogurt in place of coconut milk in the marinade. I also preferred to leave the breasts whole for grilling. Also, I used ground fresh chili paste which may be similar to minced chili. Very good recipe with the sauce being particularly delicious-- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States