Thai Grilled Beef Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Delicious! I made it just the way the recipe requested (doubling the sauce) and served over rice noodles. It was fabulous! It's refreshing to serve something that everyone is wondering when we'll have it again. Thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Delicious!!! I didn't add the chilli oil as I didn't have any and only a few drops of the sesame oil. Added some red pepper & cashew nuts to the salad and some brown sugar to the dressing to balance the salty fish sauce. Just the perfect salad for a summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I loved this salad!! Instead of using Kecap Manis (which I am not completely sure what that is) I just mixed equal amounts of brown sugar and soy sauce and it came out perfect!! I also added a little rice vinegar to my liking. It was a good change from ordinary salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I used this recipe as a marinade for a flank steak, so minus the salad part. The steak loved it. We loved it. I highly recommend it. I got a kecap manis recipe from a google search and it is definately worth making as well. I have used the sauce for other things too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
De-Lish. 1 part molasses & 2 parts soy sauce can be substituted for the kepis manis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was SOOOO GOOD! I might cut back on the sesame oil a little next time, but just for my taste preference. I did add a little sugar to the dressing as I like my Asian food pretty sweet. I served this over some chopped iceberg lettuce to make it more of a salad and served a side of white rice as well. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Wonderful salad that's very similar to what we typically have in Thai restaurants. I didn't have any cilantro and used parsley instead. It was still good but I think the cilantro would have made it even better. Added sambal oelek (an Indonesian chilli sauce) and chilli flakes for an even spicier taste. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Great salad. Followed recipe exactly and added toasted peanuts as a garnish. Lovely sweet and sour dressing with just enough of a spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was super delicious. I used half the fish sauce and substituted 1TB soy sauce + 1 scant TB brown sugar for the kecap manis. Used eye of chuck which is similar to ribeye and pan fried in a very hot cast iron skillet. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Love it! Super spicy. Added red cabbage for more color and crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States