Thai Grilled Beef Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Decent, but not superb. Tastes like Thai, it just wasn't quite right for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I used this recipe as a marinade for a flank steak, so minus the salad part. The steak loved it. We loved it. I highly recommend it. I got a kecap manis recipe from a google search and it is definately worth making as well. I have used the sauce for other things too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was yummy. I think it may have had a little too much lime, I also added 2 cloves of garlic, I think that it helped. This is very simaler to a Thai restaurant here in Salt Lake. I think I will play with it next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Loved this! It slightly salty, but the fish sauce is adjustable, so add that to taste. I did not have time to make the kecap manis and will do so for next time, as I am sure that will influence the salt. I put the whole thing over a bed of romaine, and it was terrific. My whole family loved it! I have two picky eaters who loved the meat in particular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I loved this salad!! Instead of using Kecap Manis (which I am not completely sure what that is) I just mixed equal amounts of brown sugar and soy sauce and it came out perfect!! I also added a little rice vinegar to my liking. It was a good change from ordinary salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
De-Lish. 1 part molasses & 2 parts soy sauce can be substituted for the kepis manis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Delicious! I made it just the way the recipe requested (doubling the sauce) and served over rice noodles. It was fabulous! It's refreshing to serve something that everyone is wondering when we'll have it again. Thanks for the terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Delicious!!! I didn't add the chilli oil as I didn't have any and only a few drops of the sesame oil. Added some red pepper & cashew nuts to the salad and some brown sugar to the dressing to balance the salty fish sauce. Just the perfect salad for a summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was SOOOO GOOD! I might cut back on the sesame oil a little next time, but just for my taste preference. I did add a little sugar to the dressing as I like my Asian food pretty sweet. I served this over some chopped iceberg lettuce to make it more of a salad and served a side of white rice as well. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I felt this dressing had too much fish sauce in it. My husband is on a low sodium diet and it was quite salty. I also added some rice wine vinegar and pepper flakes. Other than that, it had a very good flavor. It is surprising how the flavors blend. I'm not sure I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States