Thai Green Curry Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I loved this recipe! I adapt almost every recipe because, well honestly, who doesn't. That being said, I hardly adapted this one at all. Just a little more garlic, a little more soy. And added bamboo shoots, because I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Doesn't everybody have an idea of the perfect curry at their fav Thai restaurant? We sure do, and after reading all the reviews I tweaked it to our taste and this came out very good. I skipped one of the limes after reviewers complained of too much lime. I also subbed a generous tablespoon of lemongrass paste (instead of mincing lemongrass)to make it a bit easier. Added a couple teaspoonsful of fish sauce and used full fat coconut milk. After all that, it was still pretty tart from the lime so I added a couple tablespoons of coconut sport (cream of coconut) to sweeten it and give the sauce a more pronounced coconut flavor. With my changes it was pretty darned close to our favorite restaurant green curry. Topped it with a a handful of fresh mint leaves and we were ready to rock. Thanks so much for sharing this versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I used this recipe as a base, but as others have mentioned it definitely needs fish sauce! Even tho I love coconut, I find I enjoy dish like this much better if I use less coconut milk and substitute some veggie broth. My veggies of choice are zucchini, red pepper and bean sprouts; but it's very versatile that way. Serve with noodles or rice in a big soup bowl, and relax about the thin consistency! There are some beautiful green curry pastes out there so often use that as a short cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The sauce seemed really unbalanced. First, it was too sour; I added a teaspoon of brown sugar. Then, I added salt—but there was still something missing. We were halfway through dinner before I jumped up, saying, "FISH SAUCE. I knew it was missing something! No 'umami'"! That made it much better. I added red bell pepper and some sliced zucchini and yellow squash instead of baby corn. Leftovers were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Made this a few times, SO delicious! Its fresh and lively flavor is just perfection! I've never successfully procured lemongrass where I live, so this may hamper my version- not that I'd notice b/c it's so good even without it. One tip I'll share is DON'T use "lite" coconut milk, it makes the sauce slimy and ruins the whole recipe. Try this one, I bet you'll have a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I've made this several times and love it. I usually use pan fried tofu instead of prawns and change up the veggies. I also cut down the lime juice a bit, maybe use only one lime instead of two. I've also made the mistake of using low fat coconut milk which was awful - the regular coconut milk really helps cut the heat and thicken the sauce. I agree with other reviews that you can cut down the amount of milk, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Delicious and very fragrant! I used 1 lime instead of 2 because it seemed like a lot, yet it still turned out a little on the sour side so I added some sugar and chopped cashews to soften it. As others mentioned, the consistency was watery. Don't skim on the coconut milk because that's what balances out the lime, I used flour to thicken it and it turned out great. Stir in a teaspoon of fish sauce at the end for perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
4 stars with my addition of 2 tsp fish sauce and about 1/2 of the coconut milk. I felt it was a good base recipe, but wasn't at it's best without the fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
We've made this many times now and it's always a mind-blower! Always best when the green beans are nice and fresh and tender. Made it once with sub-par coconut milk...that was a mistake. Omitted the lemon grass, otherwise followed the recipe. The sauce is soupy buy we just add an arrowroot slurry at the end and it thickens it right up. Will make this again and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willinajar
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The texture of this curry is really thin, so only use a necessary amount of coconut milk, DO NOT use the whole can. I also thought that the taste was a bit too sour. Otherwise, this would make a good green curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States