Thai Green Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is super yummy and will stay in the rotation. I use chopped Thai Basil instead of cilantro and add sliced bell pepper and carrots to add veggie nutrition. I use 1 can light coconut milk together with 1/3 cup chicken broth. The specified 2 Tbsp of Mae Ploy yellow curry paste gives just the right amount of heat (not mild, but not too spicy). Following recommendations in many of the other reviews, I omit the soy sauce in the sauce part, and use just a dash of sugar. We all like this dish, even my 10 year old. Best over Jasmine rice with stir fried bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is easy and delicious. After reading reviews about the soy sauce turning the curry brown, I decided to leave it out. It can always be added as a condiment. I also used well trimmed boneless skinless chicken thighs and didn't bother breading them. I cut up the chicken and cooked it in a bit of olive oil and then removed it and continued on with the recipe, as written. With the exception of the sugar, which I did not add (I didn't miss it and can't imagine that it enhances the dish that much). Incidentally, I learned a trick for storing and using fresh ginger. Store it in the freezer (I've had my current piece a few months-no need to containerized). When you need it, take it out and grate it frozen, no peeling necessary. It grates perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julimcintosh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Added Bamboo, water chestnuts, sliced bell pepper, carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Delicious! Thank you, definitely something I will make again. Probably try with seafood instead of chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Love this basic recipe for green curry. Don't let the picture fool you because it doesn't look appealing. I add whatever I have handy, broccoli, carrots, bamboo shoots, mushrooms, asparagus and it is always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was my very first attempt at green coconut curry. I was very disappointed. The flour gave the sauce too much of a gravy consistency and the soy competed with the delicate flavour of the coconut. My second attempt at green coconut curry was much, much better. Five stars I would give it. And much simpler: coconut milk, mini corn cobs, canned bamboo shoots, peas, green curry paste, chicken that I browned first in coconut oil, a little brown sugar, and oyster sauce, and some chicken broth. All you need folks and mind blowing. (I also added torn basil leaves and very thinly sliced hot pepper.) Perhaps the people rating this five stars have not had a good green coconut curry before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Easy to make and very good. You can add vegetables or whatever you want. I like mine a little spicier than the amount of paste called for so I tripled it but other than that I followed the recipe pretty close. I didn't have chicken breast so I used thighs but it was chicken. I liked it and would make it again and again. Of course I am a sucker for green curry. When you read bad reviews of this and other recipes remember they are not chiseled in granite. They are starting points and give you a good idea of proportions of the ingredients. Don't be so ready to say bad things. This is a good place to start and on it's own it is pretty darn good the way it it written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I really like this recipe. I use it all the time and love to pour the sauce over veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Boyer
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Simple and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I love this recipe- I add broccoli, red pepper and red onion and it is fantastic every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by einalem20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States