Thai Green Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KB
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I did modify this a bit, by adding quartered gold potatoes (which I parboiled, then simmered along with the curry sauce), plus some sliced bell pepper (stir fried at the beginning, then added right before removing the curry from the heat). All of that said--the flavor of this curry is very good. As another commenter mentioned, it does seem like you spent more time building the layers of flavor than you actually did (which is always a plus!). I served mine over steamed jasmine rice. The one issue I have with the recipe is that it's somewhat "heavy"...as in, rich. In future, I think I'll experiment with a 3-to-1 ratio of coconut milk and chicken broth, just to lighten up the curry sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tsippie Revier
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
this dish was amazing! i tried sticking as much as possible to rhe recipe. i added cabbage, because i love cabbage, and didnt put in the fish sauce (as a jew, we dont mix chicken and fish) also, i didnt have any coconut milk at the time, so i made it with coconut cream instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valeriebrwns
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
My first attempt at Thai food. The recipe is easy and it taste good. Im not a great cook but I'm a bit proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Ross
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I really enjoy this dish. I made it about five times and I have spruced it up a bit with veggies and heat. I double the curry paste, lots of veggies, bamboo shoots, lemon grass, and slice in several hot peppers and dried Thai chilis. I add the veggies with about ten minutes to simmer so they don't overcook. I've never used the soy sauce or sugar and the I made it with and without the flour. Didn't find adding the flour added to the taste. It just made more dishes for cleanup. Overall, this dish is excellent as is but is also a great base for your own customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drew Ross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Darn close to our favorite restaurant. Good base recipe. I omitted the flour, soy sauce, and cilantro. Added an extra 2/3 tbsp curry, red bell peppers, bamboo shoots and sweet basil. For some heat I added a quartered jalapeño pepper while it simmered, I wish it would've been hotter may have to try a spicier pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This recipe is great! I added some veggies (carrots and kale). Based on one review recommending not using soy sauce, I planned on omitting it. In the first step, I salted the chicken instead. However, at the end, the sauce was still missing something, so I ended up adding about 1 tsp of soy sauce anyway. Even after that, it seemed to still be missing something, so I ended up adding a couple of squeezes (~2 wedges) of some fresh lime juice and it worked like a charm. I've tried several green curry dishes in the past and this is by far the best one I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made this recipe using Tofu instead of chicken, I prepped the tofu exactly as stated for the chicken, and it was absolutely delicious! I also tossed in some fresh chopped veggies. You could always add some broth to lighten up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is super yummy and will stay in the rotation. I use chopped Thai Basil instead of cilantro and add sliced bell pepper and carrots to add veggie nutrition. I use 1 can light coconut milk together with 1/3 cup chicken broth. The specified 2 Tbsp of Mae Ploy yellow curry paste gives just the right amount of heat (not mild, but not too spicy). Following recommendations in many of the other reviews, I omit the soy sauce in the sauce part, and use just a dash of sugar. We all like this dish, even my 10 year old. Best over Jasmine rice with stir fried bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is easy and delicious. After reading reviews about the soy sauce turning the curry brown, I decided to leave it out. It can always be added as a condiment. I also used well trimmed boneless skinless chicken thighs and didn't bother breading them. I cut up the chicken and cooked it in a bit of olive oil and then removed it and continued on with the recipe, as written. With the exception of the sugar, which I did not add (I didn't miss it and can't imagine that it enhances the dish that much). Incidentally, I learned a trick for storing and using fresh ginger. Store it in the freezer (I've had my current piece a few months-no need to containerized). When you need it, take it out and grate it frozen, no peeling necessary. It grates perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julimcintosh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Added Bamboo, water chestnuts, sliced bell pepper, carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States