Thai Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Average, does not worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Quick and Delicious! I have a very authentic recipe for Tom Kar Gai soup that I usually make, but since I didn't have time to go to the asian market, and didn't have galanga, kifir lime leaves, or lemon grass on hand, I thought I'd give this recipe a try. Well this recipe exceeded my expectations. It was almost as good as the real thing! I added sliced carrots and straw mushrooms and it was a huge hit. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I enjoyed it, but it didn't go over so well with the family. The lime was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I think this is a good base to a recipe but needs some flavor. As some of the other reviews did, I also used chicken broth instead of water. I also added water chestnuts, cilantro and thai chilis for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Don't do anything to this recipe... it's fantastic! We are going to make it at least once every couple weeks! This is not a spicy soup... the ginger does not make it spicy so if that's what you are looking for you will have to add extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This soup was easy to make and just OK. My husband and I agree it doesn't rate a 4-5 star rating. Something seems to be missing even though using other rater's suggestions I used chicken broth instead of water, added water chestnuts and snow peas. Wouldn't go out of my way to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Light fresh tasting appetizer soup, I used some leftover roasted chicken so it was super easy! Added a bit bit more fish sauce and a touch of red rooster chili garlic sauce for heat.......as you sip the flavors become more complex, so as you reach the end you are very satisfied but not full and ready for the next course.....Lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindys Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Full of flavor and perfect for a quick weeknight meal----low carb too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Delicious and quick soup to make. Didn't add fish sauce b/c never have on hand. Had leftover coconut milk from another Thai recipe and worked great when I halved the recipe to make 2 servings. I already had diced cooked chicken, which was a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My mom made this soup for a Thai themed dinner party, and it was amazing!! Dont change a thing, its perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States