Thai Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This was a big hit. I added snap peas and substituted the water for chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
this was a quick and easy soup, soooo yummy! i alterd it a bit using chicken stock, added snow peas, water chestnuts, and a dash of cayenne pepper and served with jasmine rice. definitely a winner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Wonderful soup. I was amazing at the amount flavor, but not at all overpowering. My family and I loved it!!! Even my mother, whose isn't a big fan of fresh ginger. I served it with eggrolls and a simple vegitable stirfry. I will most certainly make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This "Thai Ginger Soup" is my new "go to" recipe for cold and flu season: it has coconut milk (with the immune-system boosting properties of medium-chain triglycerides); lime juice (rich in vitamin C for fighting infections); and loads of ginger (a traditional medicine). On top of that, it tastes great! I made mine with homemade chicken stock instead of water, and the combination of coconut milk, chicken stock, and ginger tasted excellent on its own without further embellishment, although I did especially like the green-onion garnish on top. It is something to keep in mind if you live in a rural community (like I did while growing up) without access to ingredients like fish sauce, fresh lime juice, and cilantro. Thank you TORIHAWK for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Excellent recipe after 'tweaking' a bit - instead of water, I used Asian soy ginger broth which I believe added a needed kick, and low fat coconut milk. This is not a spicy Thai soup, but still is very flavorful and super easy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I am on a soup kick - my guy really liked this one - he swears he feels like a teen-ager the next day after eating something with ginger in it. Whatever!??! This was super easy to make and just tastes better and better as it gets oldler. Will keep this one. Didn't change anything. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Very good. I served it over rice with brocolli. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is something I would make again. I think it would compliment any Asian dinner. I subbed chicken broth for the water, but I think it may have taken away from some of the coconut flavor. I also left out the fish sauce as I don't like fish sauce. Next time I will also dice the chicken because long strips were hard to eat in a soup. Other than that I think the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
We love this soup! I've made it twice now and it was perfect each time. I followed the advice of the other reviewers and substituted chicken broth for the water and added some fresh garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Delicious! I sauteed broccoli with a small shallot in some coconut oil and added it to the soup while the broccoli was still somewhat crunchy; I find the broccoli gets too mushy when cooked with the rest of the ingredients in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagGyver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States