Thai Fried Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Delicious and easy. All the guests were hollering for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
A fabulous recipe!! Even better fried with sesame seeds, and drizzled with honey when finished. Ice cream goes perfectly as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This Dessert is Excellent and I love them because I order this every time I eat at a Thai place and it doesn't get any better than this when they serve them warm drizzled with a sweet Thai honey sauce and served with a Thai vanilla bean coconut ice cream SO GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
delicious!!! My hubby and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLREDERIKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made this for a couple of my friends at our dinner party and the loved it! The ask me to make it for them all of the time now. I served it with soy vanilla ice cream and it tasted delicious! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I halved the recipe and followed to the T. The batter came out very thin. I added a tbsp more of both flour and still looked thin. For some reasone after I let it sat for an hour on the counter...it came out thicker, and coated the bananas well. I sprinkle extra coconut on top and drizzled it with condensed milk. It's delicious! Then I tried it with the melted chocolate with a scoop of vanilla ice cream... it's like eating frozen banana but BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Friends and I wanted to make Pad Thai, so I looked for other recipes to go with it, and it needed to be gluten free. I used the calculator to cut down the portions. These were a big hit with everyone, including the kids. I did thicken the batter slightly. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCicerello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Good desert. Tastes as good as my favorite Thai restaurant. Have to point one thing out. I saw some reviews that said the batter was to thin. I would say to them, please actually read the recipe. It clearly states to mix the ingredients and slowly add water until the batter is thick. If you are dense enough to just dump everything in the bowl. including the water, and not read the directions, then you deserve thin batter. Also, we are not talking about deep frying here. This recipe gives a nice, simple, coating of batter while letting the banana speak for itself. There is no reason to add a thousand calories to this recipe by making it with a thick coating of fried batter. I covered my finished product with cinnamon and honey and topped with reduced fat vanilla ice cream and fat free whip cream. This recipe is very simple and quick. It took me less than 10 minutes to produce the finished product. I left out the tapioca flour, as I didn't have it any on hand. I also had coconut water and fresh coconut available so I used those ingredients instead of what was suggested in the recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It has been saved and will be made many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I found this recipe is perfect, read the directions, you add the liquid a little at a time until you get the thin consistency needed. Almost like cream. It's not supposed to be thick !!!! Ive been to Thailand many times and this is popular street food and often made in Thai homes. The batter is supposed to be very very thin.... Just a sheer coating to yield a veil of sweet crispness, to accent the sweet banana, not over power it. If you want something with a deep fried thick batter, you may want to try a corn dog instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I read all the reviews before I tried this, make sure you mix the flours then add the water slowly. If it seems a little runny let it sit for an hour. The longer I let it sit the more water I had to add. The only problem with this recipe it is too good. My 2 teen aged daughters had a couple friends over a piece. I should have bought thirty bananas and tripled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States