Thai Fried Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Good desert. Tastes as good as my favorite Thai restaurant. Have to point one thing out. I saw some reviews that said the batter was to thin. I would say to them, please actually read the recipe. It clearly states to mix the ingredients and slowly add water until the batter is thick. If you are dense enough to just dump everything in the bowl. including the water, and not read the directions, then you deserve thin batter. Also, we are not talking about deep frying here. This recipe gives a nice, simple, coating of batter while letting the banana speak for itself. There is no reason to add a thousand calories to this recipe by making it with a thick coating of fried batter. I covered my finished product with cinnamon and honey and topped with reduced fat vanilla ice cream and fat free whip cream. This recipe is very simple and quick. It took me less than 10 minutes to produce the finished product. I left out the tapioca flour, as I didn't have it any on hand. I also had coconut water and fresh coconut available so I used those ingredients instead of what was suggested in the recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It has been saved and will be made many times over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I made these for a multicultural potluck at school. To make the recipe easier and cut down on costs i used instant pancake mix, substituting coconut milk for the water. I added the shredded coconut and a little lime zest to the prepared pancake mix, dipped the banana slices in the batter and fried. They came out wonderful. I served them with honey and lime wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
A fabulous recipe!! Even better fried with sesame seeds, and drizzled with honey when finished. Ice cream goes perfectly as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Followed the directions but the sauce was very thin, not pasty at all. Used the Nam bananas and everything, it was okay. I would use the premade mix for bananas sold in the Asian markets next time, too much trouble for nothing better than a cheaper premade mix. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I halved the recipe and followed to the T. The batter came out very thin. I added a tbsp more of both flour and still looked thin. For some reasone after I let it sat for an hour on the counter...it came out thicker, and coated the bananas well. I sprinkle extra coconut on top and drizzled it with condensed milk. It's delicious! Then I tried it with the melted chocolate with a scoop of vanilla ice cream... it's like eating frozen banana but BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Delicious......my changes were: I used 1c of rice flour instead of tapioca flour (because I had none), and I used milk in place of the water. I only used 3/4c of milk at the most & doubled the amount of coconut.....the batter was no where near runny! sprinkle w/ powdered sugar too & serve warm w/honey;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celtickel72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This Dessert is Excellent and I love them because I order this every time I eat at a Thai place and it doesn't get any better than this when they serve them warm drizzled with a sweet Thai honey sauce and served with a Thai vanilla bean coconut ice cream SO GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This batter is impossibly thin. As others complained about this, I only added half the water, but even then the batter barely coats the banana. As there is no egg or baking powder in this recipe, the batter doesn't increase in size as it fries. If you're looking for a batter of any substantive size around the banana, this is not the recipe for you. There is just the thinnest coating on the banana -- not at all like any of the fried banana desserts I've tried at Thai restaurants. After this, I looked up other recipes online, and some (with different ingredients) said to let the batter sit for an hour. Perhaps this batter would have been better if it had sat for an hour, but I won't be trying it again. Two stars for the shredded coconut in the batter -- that's a deliciously innovative addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
delicious!!! My hubby and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLREDERIKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I found this recipe is perfect, read the directions, you add the liquid a little at a time until you get the thin consistency needed. Almost like cream. It's not supposed to be thick !!!! Ive been to Thailand many times and this is popular street food and often made in Thai homes. The batter is supposed to be very very thin.... Just a sheer coating to yield a veil of sweet crispness, to accent the sweet banana, not over power it. If you want something with a deep fried thick batter, you may want to try a corn dog instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States