Thai Fried Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Followed the directions but the sauce was very thin, not pasty at all. Used the Nam bananas and everything, it was okay. I would use the premade mix for bananas sold in the Asian markets next time, too much trouble for nothing better than a cheaper premade mix. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
A fabulous recipe!! Even better fried with sesame seeds, and drizzled with honey when finished. Ice cream goes perfectly as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This Dessert is Excellent and I love them because I order this every time I eat at a Thai place and it doesn't get any better than this when they serve them warm drizzled with a sweet Thai honey sauce and served with a Thai vanilla bean coconut ice cream SO GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
delicious!!! My hubby and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLREDERIKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made this for a couple of my friends at our dinner party and the loved it! The ask me to make it for them all of the time now. I served it with soy vanilla ice cream and it tasted delicious! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I halved the recipe and followed to the T. The batter came out very thin. I added a tbsp more of both flour and still looked thin. For some reasone after I let it sat for an hour on the counter...it came out thicker, and coated the bananas well. I sprinkle extra coconut on top and drizzled it with condensed milk. It's delicious! Then I tried it with the melted chocolate with a scoop of vanilla ice cream... it's like eating frozen banana but BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I made these for a multicultural potluck at school. To make the recipe easier and cut down on costs i used instant pancake mix, substituting coconut milk for the water. I added the shredded coconut and a little lime zest to the prepared pancake mix, dipped the banana slices in the batter and fried. They came out wonderful. I served them with honey and lime wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This batter is impossibly thin. As others complained about this, I only added half the water, but even then the batter barely coats the banana. As there is no egg or baking powder in this recipe, the batter doesn't increase in size as it fries. If you're looking for a batter of any substantive size around the banana, this is not the recipe for you. There is just the thinnest coating on the banana -- not at all like any of the fried banana desserts I've tried at Thai restaurants. After this, I looked up other recipes online, and some (with different ingredients) said to let the batter sit for an hour. Perhaps this batter would have been better if it had sat for an hour, but I won't be trying it again. Two stars for the shredded coconut in the batter -- that's a deliciously innovative addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Delicious......my changes were: I used 1c of rice flour instead of tapioca flour (because I had none), and I used milk in place of the water. I only used 3/4c of milk at the most & doubled the amount of coconut.....the batter was no where near runny! sprinkle w/ powdered sugar too & serve warm w/honey;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celtickel72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Friends and I wanted to make Pad Thai, so I looked for other recipes to go with it, and it needed to be gluten free. I used the calculator to cut down the portions. These were a big hit with everyone, including the kids. I did thicken the batter slightly. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCicerello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States