Thai Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This recipe was wonderful!!! Very tasty. Even my two year old loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My favorite thing Ive made on here so far. Serve with extra chili sauce. We also used Panko..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Great recipe. You can also use any kind of canned fish for this recipe such as salmon (my favorite) or tuna, and it's just a excellent, plus a little quicker and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I loved this recipe! I did make a few changes to give it more flavor and spice. I added 1/4 cup chopped red pepper, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper and 1/4 teaspoon dried chiles. It tasted wonderful and my picky husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Instant family favourite! We only blend 3/4 of the fish though, and chop the last 1/4 into chunks to add a bit of texture to the cakes. We also cover in breadcrumbs (freshly made) because we like them crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This is a wonderful and easy recipe. I made some small changes to it. I started with 1.5 pounds of FRESH FRESH FRESH white fish, nothing canned and no dark oily fish like Salmon. Use Haddok or Sole maybe Halibut if price permits. Double the oyster sauce content, double the cilantro content to half cup. Use a tablespoon of molasses instead of Brown Sugar, it will help in the end. ANd lastly, if you can get your hands on a product called NAMPRIK PAO (Thai spelling) this will make the flavors explode. It is a paste found in a jar at many import Thai or oriental stores. A common brand name is MAERSI. Put in about 3 tablespoons of this and a little less of the sweet chile sauce and you will love this. Seems like a lot of changes but when I served this a close chef friend of mine from a noteworthy kitchen claimed these to be among the top 3 he had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dughr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Absolutely fantastic when made with dughr's suggestions!! In addition, I add a couple cloves of garlic and coat the cakes with italian bread crumbs, rather than flour. I make a dipping sauce with mayonnaise, red pepper and a touch of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I didn't use the green onion or cilantro cause I didn't have any, but added garlic. Was not "bland" but needed some aditional flavor or sauce. Very good none the less, but could be improved with an extra spice or two
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was easy to make and different. It just didn't thrill me or the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Loved it! I used leftover salmon; subbed quarter of a white onion (chopped) for the green onion. Needed a dipping sauce, so I made a lemon-paprika aioli: 2 T mayonnaise thinned with fresh lemon juice, one garlic clove minced, minced, 1 t tomato paste (for color), 1/2 teaspoons paprika and a dash of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States