Thai Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This is a wonderful and easy recipe. I made some small changes to it. I started with 1.5 pounds of FRESH FRESH FRESH white fish, nothing canned and no dark oily fish like Salmon. Use Haddok or Sole maybe Halibut if price permits. Double the oyster sauce content, double the cilantro content to half cup. Use a tablespoon of molasses instead of Brown Sugar, it will help in the end. ANd lastly, if you can get your hands on a product called NAMPRIK PAO (Thai spelling) this will make the flavors explode. It is a paste found in a jar at many import Thai or oriental stores. A common brand name is MAERSI. Put in about 3 tablespoons of this and a little less of the sweet chile sauce and you will love this. Seems like a lot of changes but when I served this a close chef friend of mine from a noteworthy kitchen claimed these to be among the top 3 he had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dughr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Great recipe. I love spicy food so I added 1 red chillie to the ingredient. It gave it a little kick and still tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
These were good. I made no changes except I dipped the patties in Panko instead of dusting with flour before frying. I loved the addition of cilantro and sweet chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This recipe was wonderful!!! Very tasty. Even my two year old loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Absolutely fantastic when made with dughr's suggestions!! In addition, I add a couple cloves of garlic and coat the cakes with italian bread crumbs, rather than flour. I make a dipping sauce with mayonnaise, red pepper and a touch of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This recipe was very bland. It tasted like nothing. We had to add sauces and other spices to make it taste like something! Flip side, if you dont mind experimenting with sauces and spices, it is very easy and quick to make. I do rec. lowering the heat though while frying or even.. bake it! (less oil and fat that way!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This recipe was very tasty, even without the cilantro. I also added some sweet corn to the second half of the mix which added a nice dimension, though not very thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaileemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quadra Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Great recipe. You can also use any kind of canned fish for this recipe such as salmon (my favorite) or tuna, and it's just a excellent, plus a little quicker and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I didn't use the green onion or cilantro cause I didn't have any, but added garlic. Was not "bland" but needed some aditional flavor or sauce. Very good none the less, but could be improved with an extra spice or two
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Turned out really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wishmouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States