Thai Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
FANTASTIC! Granted, I made several modifications, but this was an easy dinner recipe that looks like it takes far longer to prepare. I used Nasoya extra firm tofu cubes, which I drained in a towel inside a colander for about 2 hours to make sure that the tofu was dry before frying. I had some shallots that I substituted for the onion and used extra garlic. Then I added the curry powder (3 tsp.) and 1 1/2 heaping tsp. of green curry paste and let it cook for about a minute on the stove before adding the coconut milk and stirring before adding the tofu, one head of cauliflower cut into florets, and a package of cut butternut squash from the produce section. Lastly, I added 2 pieces of lemongrass that I bruised first and then cut into about 4 inch sections. I put the cover on it and let it cook until the squash and cauliflower were cooked, but not mushy and then added the cilantro -- an entire bunch of cilantro chopped. Served over white rice and my house smelled super fantastic. Definitely a keeper and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I made this dish for the second time tonight and it turned out great. The first time I made it I followed the recipe without modifications, and it turned out salty and bland. This time I fried the tofu with garlic and ginger. I also added one chopped jalopeno, extra garlic, some red crushed pepper, ginger, portobello mushrooms, carrots, and green beans. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spidermonkey555
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Delicious! This was perfect. I followed the recipe as it was printed (except my can of milk was 13.5oz.) and both my husband and I loved it. This was simple and ingredients are usually on hand in this house. I will make it again. Attn readers: This is not a spicy dish, if your in a spicy mood, try a red curry. This is very creamy and smooth and mild and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spidermonkey555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was my first successful meal with tofu. I pressed it by putting a plate with two cans on top for about 15 minutes, and then fried it with LOTS of oil. The rest of the dish was pretty easy, but too mild by itself. I added half of a habanero pepper, broccoli, cauliflower, green peppers, halved grape tomatoes, and some cayenne pepper and chili powder. A 14-oz can of coconut milk provides enough sauce for the extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Without the seasoned salt and with some vegetables, I'd rate this a 5. I left out the seasoned salt per other readers' advice and added frozen broccoli toward the end. I served over basmati rice and it was delicious. I think I also used vegetable oils only. (Side note: If you don't think you'd like tofu, buy Melissa's - I get it at Walmart Neighborhood Market - it's awesome!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I used light Coconut Milk to reduce the fat in the disk and it still tasted great! Great flavor and wonderful aroma...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Very easy and simple to make! After the step of the onions/garlic I added in snow peas, carrots, red peppers, broccoli and mushrooms and sauteed them till they were tender but crisp. I then followed the rest of the steps, I added in half a spoon of paprika and more salt n' pep to taste, I also added in a spoon of thai chili sauce. It was nice and flavorful but my ultimate verdict is that it was a little too creamy for my taste, I'm not too big on creamy flavor, maybe I will add in water next time I make it. The rest of my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was very good! We added more curry to taste and more cilantro. Sea salt to taste. Served over jasmine rice, tasted like we ordered it from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Made this for dinner tonight and it was GREAT. Everyone was really impressed with it. My additions were: Extra Curry Powder Extra Salt Extra Cilantro Added brocccoli, cauliflower & baby carrots, could've used ever MORE veggies. Served over oriental noodles Sprinkled with Sri Racha Rooster Sauce. Totally awesome. I think 5 is only for PERFECT recipes which is why I give it a 3 - needed some modification. Next time I will add some crushed red pepper I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I'm rating this based on a modified version. I added fresh carrots, broccoli and cauliflower towards the end of the simmer time. Other than this, I followed the recipe as directed. This was my first time frying tofu and it stuck to the pan, even with non-stick spray. Once everything was simmering, it looked and smelled wonderful. However, that's where it ended. Although I love curry, this dish was lacking in flavor and while I ate it, it received unfavorable opinions from my family. I won't make it again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States