Thai Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was delicious! I'm sure it would have been even better if the tofu I used wasn't defrosted in a hurry and if I had onion. I served it over sticky rice, I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I loved this recipe, I followed the suggestions of others and added onion and extra garlic. Sauteing them first in olive oil, then taking them out and browning the tofu. Even though my kids were not big fans I thought it tasted great. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Not your typical Thai dish (as for spicyness) however I overcame that by using some spicy tofu and a little bit of hot pepper. As suggested by others I added some veggies to bulk it up. As a finishing touch added a little bit of dried lemon grass. Not too shabby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I cooked up some frozen vegetables and added them in when I added the tofu and it turned out really delicious! Served it with couscous and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Having only been cooking tofu for about a year, I was having a hard time figuring out how to prepare a tofu dish in which you didn't taste the somewhat nutty, bland flavor of tofu (I'm not a big fan). Well, this is it! I made slight modifications: I added a green pepper (cubed), used about 10 green onions rather than one small regular onion, omitted the cilantro, used about 3 tsp red curry paste rather than powder, and added about 1 1/2 tbsp of soy sauce. (Also used reduced fat coconut milk, and then added a little corn starch/water to thicken it up a bit.) Served over jasmine rice, and I believe I may never have tofu any other way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I was reading a lot of the comments about this recipe, and after making it myself I came to the conclusion that the coconut milk overpowers the rest of the spices, hence why it comes out bland. I'll also note to future tofu cookers; Tofu is a very picky substance. It sticks very easily, but it also absorbs flavors easily as well. So when cooking it for the first time, use oil (Olive oil I find tastes best in the end) or cooking spray and cook on low heat and turn regularly. Also factor in the type of range you're cooking on and the type of cookware you have (cheap, copper bottom, aluminum). The better quality your cookware (or the better it sustains even heat) the lower your cooking temp should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was very good, I added fresh basil leafs (about 1/2 cup) along with the coconut milk and the curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
For anyone who is looking for a gluten free recipe, this is excellent! I made it lactose free as well by omitting the butter and added red pepper flakes to make the tofu spicier. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I added asparagus and used "Thai Kitchen" tom ka soup cause I bought "cream of coconut" instead of coconut milk. Was pretty good, a little spicy. Served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I just made this tonight with A LOT of modifications and it was excellent! I'd give it a 5 if I had followed the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States