Thai Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I hate to be one of the very few people who did not like this recipe, but I found the sauce too creamy and the flavor lacking depth. I would prefer green or red curry to curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I cut the tofu into 1/2" cubes and used a 1/4 teaspoon cayenne red pepper, served it with white rice and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by O Side Doughboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This dish was about a 3 as it's listed, but I give it about 4.5 stars after making some modifications. I added more salt & cilantro and replaced the onions with scallions. I also added thin red & yellow pepper strips, red pepper flakes, cashews, and brown sugar. YUM! These additions made a significant difference. If there were anything else I would've done, it would've been to add lemongrass and fresh lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Felton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The curry was a little too sweet for me so I added cheyenne pepper, fixed it right up! However the tofu was just too much I recomend cutting it into very small pieces maybe 1/2 inch dice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was only 3 stars as written but with vegetables and more spices it's 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe! I prepared this a bit differently and it came out great. Will definitely make this again. I sauteed onion and garlic in olive oil, added drained tofu and squirted some Braggs Amino Acids on top instead of salt. Sauteed some more while I chopped some broccoli and butternut squash. Added veggies, coco milk, curry powder, cilantro, salt and pepper and simmered for 15 min. Served over rice. Delish! Didn't have any curry paste or seasoned salt and didn't miss em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
this was really good, but I like the falovs to be a bit stronger. I'll add more spice next time. That said, my hubby who likes things milder thought it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Scared by reading the reviews, I held the "seasoned salt" in reserve until I had everything mixed. (I did add a cup of mixed veggies). Then I added Lowry's Seasoned Salt, in portions, to taste. The flavor was nice, certainly NOT strong... but the kids did eat it (no seconds.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
First time I made it I did so exactly as the recipe said. As others have stated it was too salty and bland. Second time I made the following adjustments: - No salt while frying tofu. Used ginger, seaseme, and garlic instead. - Added frozen veggie medley after sauteeing onions and garlic. - Added wasabi & sugar to curry while cooking. The outcome was better, but still lacked flavor! Note that both times I used extra curry and garlic. My conclusion is that you need to really k ow how to cook Thai food to pull this off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was pretty good! Added broccoli and carrots and red pepper flakes. Fried the tofu with some ginger. Didn't do the seasoned salt. Used light coconut milk to save some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States