Thai Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by bhoconnor
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Good, but wanted veg's, so added frozen bag of vegetables. Also used 14 oz light coconut milk, 16 oz (i think, whatever reg size is) of tofu, and dry parsley instead of fresh cilantro (use about 1/3 recc'd amount if you do this). Also increased everything else by about a 1/4 to cover the veg's, and it was good, good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhoconnor
Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Great flavour! My family loved this dish (my picky 2 yr old included!). Simple & quick to make - I was able to use what I already had in the house. Changes I made were adding a large handful of chopped baby spinach just before adding the coconut milk, reducing sodium content by using 1/4 tsp sea salt instead of 1/2 tsp regular table salt, and substituted 1 Tbsp dried parsley flakes for the fresh cilantro because I didn't have it. Next time I'd like to try this with the fresh cilantro and reduce the high fat & calorie content by using 1-1/2 tsp Extra Virgin Olive oil instead of butter and Light Coconut Milk. I served this over a Kashmiri rice inspired side dish made of what I had in the house (leftover trail mix of nuts, dried fruit and coconut shavings; 1 vegetable bouillon cube; 1 Tbsp dried chives; and 1 tsp olive oil - all added to boiling water when adding the brown rice). Make sure to use a low sodium bouillon cube and unsalted trail mix, or omit the salt from the Thai Curry Tofu recipe. I didn't do either and the combination of the 2 dishes was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This would probably be good for a beginner cook or college student who isn't too familiar with the more exotic spices and flavors. It lacked depth. Maybe with some ginger, basil, lime, coriander...Probably won't make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
smooth, sweet a very lovely curry. i was proud to say i made curry for the 1st time! will make again - only rated a 4 bc my 2 toddlers ended up having cereal, the curry spice was too much for them i think bc we eat tofu regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Sounded great, wasn't. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I really enjoyed this. I added red peppers, potatoes, broccoli, and green peas. I also diced up a little jalepeno as well. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, though it did need a little extra zing. It's pretty mild, so if you like things spicy you'll need to jazz it up a bit. It was nice and saucy and great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex M
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very simple to make! A few small changes: I didn't added salt when frying tofu. I added some water to make the sauce less thick. I also added pineapple and tomato for red curry taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is very tasty and easy. I used a lot more than recommended amount of curry (went by taste) and I did not use any butter. I also used 1/2 cup more cilantro than recommended. This recipe was a hit with my family and my fiance loves it! I have done it many times (also a few times with chicken instead of tofu -- it was wonderful). I cooked it with fresh Hot Peppers (put it in the coconut milk and let it cook a bit longer.... Which gave it a really good kick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was amazing! I tweaked this a bit after reading some reviews. I added snow peas and mushrooms, omitted the cilantro, and only did 1 teaspoon of curry. I also fried the tofu in olive oil. I can't wait to try this again! I'm thinking I'll add water chestnuts and bamboo shoots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaqueesha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States