Thai Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I love this! Perfect meal. Instead of frying the tofu first, I just went right into cooking the onions with the tofu together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shatteredrazor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is beyond yummy. Husband and I have been trying to cut out meat so this creamy tofu dish hit the spot. Will definitely make again. BTW I did not add the cilantro because I did not have any on hand and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this as directed with minor changes. I omitted the onion, chopped up a chili pepper and threw it in with the garlic, and used the whole bunch of cilantro. Served it over rice. It was delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe, just as many others have said, is bland when you first make it... but it is AMAZING the next day, and the day after that, and the day after that. I have made this a couple times and I think that as the tofu slowly absorbs the curry, the flavors become much more complex and delicious. My tweaks: I used EVOO instead of the canola oil and the butter/margarine. I added a bag of prewashed broccoli and cauliflower, a teaspoon of garlic chili sauce and a teaspoon of red chili flakes. Since there wasn't enough curry to cover the added veggies, I used 2 cans of light coconut milk and 4 teaspoons of curry powder. I also sprinkled a bit of curry powder on the tofu before frying it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
i liked the recipe very simple and fast but tofu takes some getting used to it was my first time trying tofu. but i loved the recipe and i am definetley going to do the thai curry sauce again but on chicken next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa West
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
delicious sauce, goes well with the tofu. i will definitely make this again, but will add something to mix up the texture: almonds or cashews maybe, or bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I thought this recipe was tasty! I always tweak recipes so I added some raisins for a bit of sweet, freshly grated ginger and a pinch of 5 spice. I omitted the seasoned salt and used a lesser amount of sea salt. After it simmered 15 mins, I added uncooked thin Asian rice noodles to the curry and few splashes of chicken broth to give the noodles extra liquid to absorb. Amazingly rich, complex and deee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
It was pretty good, but I think it might be a good idea to soak the tofu in the sauce beforehand. That way the tofu gets more of the sauce's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Like the other reviewers I made many changes to the existing recipe, hence the 3 stars. With my changes I thought it was quite fantastic however. I fried the tofu, poured off any excess vegetable oil and then added 4 chopped cloves of garlic, half an onion, mushrooms, broccoli, red pepper flakes and 2 tablespoons chopped ginger. After sauteing that until it was about half cooked I added 2 tablespoons of lemon pepper and the curry as well as salt and and 1 tsp of basil. I mixed that all together until the spices were fragrant (1-2 minutes) and then added the coconut milk and cooked for a few more minutes until the broccoli was tender. The cilantro I added just before removing the dish from the heat. The lemon pepper I think did the trick, as it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I appreciate the attempt at an international entry to allrecipes since I've noticed a lack of recipes from certain regions. That being said, like several reviewers noted, I found this recipe to be a bit bland. This might be good for an entry level into thai food and for those who can't handle spice, but if you are used to thai, it's going to underwhelm with the flavoring. I highly recommend doing as others suggested and adding vegetables of your choosing, I personally added diced red peppers, green peas, and dried red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States