Thai Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I have made it several times, and had trouble getting a flavorful meal for a while. The key I have found is to use a GOOD CURRY. I buy mine bulk from the local natural foods store, but when I was using a generic brand curry I simply could not get a full flavorful dish. With the good curry I finally found, I use about 2 tbsp of it and I add a little spice to the dish as well, usually sriracha. I also add in frozen veggies like broccoli and peas when I add the coconut milk and spices, and that typically allows time for them to thaw and cook while it is simmering. I always use extra firm tofu and 'press' my tofu before cubing and cooking. This involves placing on a cuting board or other surface and stacking books or other heavy items on top. I additionally always cook my tofu on medium-high heat for a while to get nice crispy edges. All in all, this recipe will turn out great if you use a good curry spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Excellent! Both my hubby and I love this...no changes needed! We'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Followed the advice of others and cut down on the seasoned salt/regular salt, but upped the curry and added a bit of cumin and cayenne. Also threw in matchstick carrots and snow peas, and I used low-fat coconut milk. Results were very tasty. Next time I'll add less onion, though, if any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Loved it. I didnt have coconut milk so I used soy milk and added some extra chilli powder, as well as a small can of mixed vegetables (carrots and green peas), and it was yum! Will totally make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I thought the curry could have more kick to it. Overall tasty but lacks flavour from spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I love this! Perfect meal. Instead of frying the tofu first, I just went right into cooking the onions with the tofu together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shatteredrazor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is beyond yummy. Husband and I have been trying to cut out meat so this creamy tofu dish hit the spot. Will definitely make again. BTW I did not add the cilantro because I did not have any on hand and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania Stuart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this as directed with minor changes. I omitted the onion, chopped up a chili pepper and threw it in with the garlic, and used the whole bunch of cilantro. Served it over rice. It was delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe, just as many others have said, is bland when you first make it... but it is AMAZING the next day, and the day after that, and the day after that. I have made this a couple times and I think that as the tofu slowly absorbs the curry, the flavors become much more complex and delicious. My tweaks: I used EVOO instead of the canola oil and the butter/margarine. I added a bag of prewashed broccoli and cauliflower, a teaspoon of garlic chili sauce and a teaspoon of red chili flakes. Since there wasn't enough curry to cover the added veggies, I used 2 cans of light coconut milk and 4 teaspoons of curry powder. I also sprinkled a bit of curry powder on the tofu before frying it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
i liked the recipe very simple and fast but tofu takes some getting used to it was my first time trying tofu. but i loved the recipe and i am definetley going to do the thai curry sauce again but on chicken next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa West

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States