Thai Curry Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
A little bland, but a good base recipe to add your own unique twist to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Fabulous. I sauteed some snap peas, red pepper and green onions to make a more substantial dish. 1 TBS salt seemed too much to me, so I put 1 tsp and that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This recipe was a good base, but too bland for my liking as is. I did use light coconut milk and it was a 13.5 oz. can. I fried my tofu in peanut oil (be sure to press out the water first!) and, instead of seasoned salt, splashed several shakes of fish sauce and then a few shakes of each of the following: onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, celery seeds, coriander, fresh ground black pepper and cayenne. Start light on the fish sauce and add to taste - I added a few more shakes later on to the sauce as it was simmering, but fish sauce is quite salty so go easy at first. After I added the coconut milk to the garlic and onion, I added two chopped, dried Thai chilies along with the cilantro and tofu. The chilies add a lot of spice and give a good amount of kick, but are probably too spicy for those who aren't into spicy food. Then I added 1 green and 1 red bell pepper and a mix of mushrooms. I tossed in a couple handfuls of roasted, unsalted cashews a minute or two before serving. Served over rice noodles and my husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dannytheintern
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very easy to make and it tastes great! I noticed that there was a surprisingly high amount of fat in this recipe and it's source being the coconut milk. I experimented and used half the required amount and it still came out great. I added the tofu to rice for a more filling meal. Highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Great family recipe. Two of the three kids ate it! Next time I'll hold back a bit on the seasoned salt. My husband and I like a little more zing to a curry so we added red pepper flakes at the table. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I have made it several times, and had trouble getting a flavorful meal for a while. The key I have found is to use a GOOD CURRY. I buy mine bulk from the local natural foods store, but when I was using a generic brand curry I simply could not get a full flavorful dish. With the good curry I finally found, I use about 2 tbsp of it and I add a little spice to the dish as well, usually sriracha. I also add in frozen veggies like broccoli and peas when I add the coconut milk and spices, and that typically allows time for them to thaw and cook while it is simmering. I always use extra firm tofu and 'press' my tofu before cubing and cooking. This involves placing on a cuting board or other surface and stacking books or other heavy items on top. I additionally always cook my tofu on medium-high heat for a while to get nice crispy edges. All in all, this recipe will turn out great if you use a good curry spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Excellent! Both my hubby and I love this...no changes needed! We'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Followed the advice of others and cut down on the seasoned salt/regular salt, but upped the curry and added a bit of cumin and cayenne. Also threw in matchstick carrots and snow peas, and I used low-fat coconut milk. Results were very tasty. Next time I'll add less onion, though, if any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Loved it. I didnt have coconut milk so I used soy milk and added some extra chilli powder, as well as a small can of mixed vegetables (carrots and green peas), and it was yum! Will totally make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I thought the curry could have more kick to it. Overall tasty but lacks flavour from spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States