Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Awesome soup, but doesn't make enough for the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This recipe as it stands now is bland and lacks core Thai ingredients. I've read reviewers say it is missing something key in flavor but they aren't sure what it is. This recipe MUST have fish sauce instead of soy. Soy isn't a authentic Thai ingredient, fish sauce is. You also need to use real coconut milk and not the nasty reduced fat stuff. The real stuff will give you a nice natural milky coconut flavor if you use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was so good and easy! I can't believe I made it myself! I did make a few changes which makes the recipe even better (that you can do that so easily)! I did not use lemon grass,I used green curry paste, I did not have chicken broth, so I just counted the juice from the canned mushrooms and chicken (12.5 oz) plus 3 cups of water. I used the chicken instead of the shrimp, lemon juice instead of lime, no cilantro and red onions cooked at the beginning with the garlic and oil instead of the green onions. Maybe I'll try it more accurately the next time, but this was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Wow. Thank you to Kaeli on this one. Best Thai style soup I have ever eaten, anywhere. I doubled the mushrooms and added red bell pepper but other than that stayed pretty true. So, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My husband really enjoyed this "Thai Curry Soup" and asked me to make it again (5 stars). I am still looking for a Thai soup that tastes like the ones served in Thai restaurants. Thank you Kaeli for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Wonderful soup and easy to make! I added an assortment of oyster, shitake, and baby bella mushrooms since they were handy. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I added chickpeas & coriander, more garlic/ginger & red curry paste, yum, thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I have been trying to duplicate this EXACT recipe for several years now. My former employer used to bring this to me before I moved out of state. I followed the recipe with 3 exceptions I added more mushrooms cause I love mushrooms a pinch of red pepper flakes & more lemon grass. I loved it my family couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
We loved this soup. It was full of flavor. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper because we like spicy, but it would have been delicious without I am sure. I didn't have fresh lemongrass so I used some dried. I put it in the broth and let it cook until we were ready to eat, then removed it. I will make it again but will sauté the mushrooms prior to putting with the other ingredients. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is great! I also added 2 grated carrots and crushed red pepper flakes for some heat. I was unable to find red curry paste at the store so I substituted red curry sauce and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States