Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I added wedges of red onion and tomato. I left out the cilantro. I wanted it to taste like the thai curry soup at noodles and company. I think I succeeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I make this soup almost every week! I make it veggie by using veggie broth and mushrooms or tofu for the shrimp. I've never added the lemon grass and often leave out the cilantro and/or green onions and it doesn't seem to suffer. also, I use full fat coconut milk. Also, since the soup never lasts more than a day i add the noodles straight to it. 3/4 or so of the spinach seems like plenty to me. All in all a great a forgiving recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was pretty good but not spectacular. I added more goodies, some snap peas and red peppers. I think next time I'll skip the lime juice and soy, a good curry paste has enough salt and sour in it so it might be better balance without. For those who skipped the lemon grass, in Thailand they never hack up the lemon grass. Hit it with the handle of your knife or a meat cleaver, then tie it into a knot. Throw it in the pot and let it simmer then simply remove the whole piece before serving :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and this soup was excellent! the only thing I would change would be to add more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was quite tasty and everyone in our house enjoyed it...as well as our neighbors (we share recipes a lot!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is very good with firm tofu. I used 3 cloves of garlic, 1 tablespoon of grated ginger, 3 oz shiitake mushrooms, and about 6 oz spinach. Since I wasn't able to find yellow curry paste, I used curry powder and tweaked the spices until it tasted right. Also good with rice instead of noodles (both are good). This is a new favorite of ours. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very yummy! I omitted mushrooms, and instead put red bell pepper strips in it. Also less curry paste - it was still hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I also LOVE the Thai Curry Soup from Noodles & Company. The base of the soup is a good start, I added Sriracha chile sauce to give it a little more heat, a little yellow curry powder in addition to the red, and a little extra sugar. The end result was as good or better than Noodles version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is probably the best soup I have ever made. I used tofu instead of shrimp and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. It was restaurant quality, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was such a hit with us, restaurant quality. My only negative is that it is somewhat expensive to buy all the ingredients. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States