Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I probably shouldn't rate this since I modified the recipe quite a bit based on what I had on hand, but it turned out great nevertheless. Ingredients I omitted (coconut milk, mushrooms, shrimps, lemon grass and cilantro). I added an extra tsp of red curry paste as well as 1 tbsp of chili garlic sauce. I also added a bunch of baby bok choy, some celery and some zucchini in there. Turned out great. Just goes to show that this recipe is versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
great taste, I just find that "2 servings" is actually a portion to have this as a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I tried this soup but with my own twist. I changed a lot of the things that were in the soup and added a lot that wasn't on the recipe. I added tomato's, corn and chunks of onions. I added a few more spices and a lot more curry powder! I also used wheat noodles instead of rice noodles. Only complaint which was on my part was to much soy sauce and to much chicken. Next time I plan to use less chicken broth and less soy sauce. This was a seriously tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I didnt have lemongrass and I substituted rice for the noodles. Turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This soup is fantastic! I left out the shrimp, added more curry paste and sirracha. Everyone I made it for raved about it for days. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Made as-is this recipe was bland. The only ingredient I was missing is the lemongrass, which I couldn't find. I ended up tripling the amount of the red curry, adding onion powder and red pepper flakes to get this to a better flavor. The end result was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Of all the ethnic recipes I have tried on this site, this one was truly outstanding! My hubby loved it! Like we all do, I tweaked a little. I served it as a main dish so I doubled the shrimp. And because we love it spicy, I added a teaspoon of curry powder and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes. This one goes on my repeat frequently list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very flavorful. I skipped the spinach because I didn't like the idea of large leaves of soggy spinach, so instead I put a handful of basil in with the cilantro and I really liked how herbal and fragrant it made the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made only a few minor adjustments to the recipe, which I'm sure didn't alter the final results much. I used chicken instead of shrimp. I cut the chicken in thin strips, cooked it a bit in the oil, removed, then continued with the recipe, adding the chicken back in towards the end. I also used lemon grass powder (about 1/2 tsp.) instead of fresh lemon grass, left out the soy sauce and added a couple of squirts of fish sauce. Also used brown sugar instead of the white. It was fantastic! Very similar to "The Best Thai Coconut Soup" recipe, also on this site, which is another favorite of ours. I did enjoy the addition of the spinach in this recipe though. Hubs said it's a "do again"! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Didn't have lemon grass, so skipped it. Used chicken instead of shrimp. Skipped mushrooms, spinach, and green onions because I didn't have them. Still absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States