Thai Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Vegetarianfoodie
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Lovely dish! I veganized it with better than bouillon vegetable base in place of chicken stock and tofu in place of shrimp. Added one diced Roma tomato as another user suggested to make it more like Noodle & co. And used full fat coconut milk, as that's what I had available. Awesome! Thank you for the recipe. Definitely staying in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This was really good! I didn't have any lemongrass so that was left out. I did 1/2 Tbsp. freshly grated ginger instead of the dried, increased the garlic to 2 cloves, increased the red curry paste to 1 Tbsp (we like it spicy), used 2 chicken breasts instead of shrimp (cut into strips and boiled in the soup), and only used 2.5 oz of spinach (it was all I had). I didn't have cilantro and green onions, so they were left out; I don't think they were needed. I'm sure had I had everything on hand and made it as written, it would have been great! I will probably decrease the chicken broth by half next time, for a thicker consistency. My kids wanted more mushrooms, so I will increase that next time as well. My husband said he would prefer it over rice, but we all enjoyed the noodles. I look forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Good base for a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I don't know much about Thai food, but I made this and it was really good. Definitely going to make it again. I've never cooked with lemongrass before. I looked up a video on how to chop it, but in the end it was a little tough for my taste. Not sure if sauteing it for longer would be the proper approach or not...? I used a full package of sliced mushrooms because I could probably eat a pile of mushrooms and be happy, and I tripled the garlic because I love garlic. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it was mildly spicy. Next time I might add a little more red curry paste or maybe toss in some cayenne or something, just to elevate it to the next level. Ultimately, really good. Don't know how authentic it is, but when it tastes this good I don't know if it really matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is a great recipe! I used tofu instead of shrimp and added carrots and green chiles. The flavors all complimented each other very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
My favorite meal out there. I add both shrimp and chicken. This is my kind of recipe and is good all year round. Putting this over rice noodles makes it a done deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My husband really enjoyed this "Thai Curry Soup" and asked me to make it again (5 stars). I am still looking for a Thai soup that tastes like the ones served in Thai restaurants. Thank you Kaeli for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
this stuff is SO very good. I make a huge pot and divide it up into tupperwares, freeze it and eat it for lunches for weeks it is my absolute favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was an incredible recipe, I've used it for more than one occasion and it always Kills it! The only little suggestion I have that I find makes it just a little more tasty is to Cook your Thai noodles al dente then let them simmer in the sauce for just a little while, but again my hats off to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Ivaskiv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renaa032
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I loved following this recipe! It was super easy and very good with my additions. I made the soup just like the directions suggest however added cherry tomato halves, yellow curry sauce and fish sauce (to amp up flavor), and lots of red pepper because we love spice!! I gave four stars because I do feel if I had not made my additions, the soup may have been a bit bland like some of the others have said (bland for my taste anyway having lived in Asia). All in all, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States