Thai Curry Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
OMG! I have never cooked anything Thai before but have enjoyed it in restaurants. My husband has always stayed away from it. I found some green curry paste in the store and thought I would give this recipe a try. I had all the ingredients on-hand except for the green pepper so I substituted mushrooms. We are on a low-carb lifestyle so we passed on the rice and just ate the chicken/sauce. My husband could NOT stop raving about how good it was!! This will be my new go-to recipe for company, as well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
For those that used powder, use paste next time, it has a better flavor. Make sure to fry the paste in the pan before mixing it with anything, it brings out the flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My whole family loved this...which is a small miracle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was reasonably tasty and easy to do, but not authentic at all, which I didn't really expect it to taste authentic anyway. I recommend doubling all the sauce ingredients (including the green curry paste). I used Thai Kitchen green curry and it was not hot to us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I felt that the sauce was way too thick and I even cut back an ounce of the cream cheese. I would have preferred a thinner, tastier sauce to accompany the rice. I also made a mistake and put it on top of coconut rice and with the thick sauce it was way too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
We tried this recipe a few days ago with shrimp, and it was fantastic! We also substituted yogurt for cream cheese, and it still had a great flavor. I added garlic and extra curry -- but it didn't need it. Tonight we're trying it with chicken because its so easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Wonderful dish! We are wimps when it comes to spice at my house, "Minnesota Mild" if you will. So I made a few adjustments to the recipe based off other reviewers. To make it more mild and edible for us, I used 1tsp of curry powder (added to the chicken after it was done cooking and just before adding the veggies, mushrooms and peas in our case). I also doubled the cream cheese, milk and pepper. We will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I followed advice and added more cream cheese and milk... made it bland and yellow-ish.... I might do it again and follow the correct recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnJohnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Being allergic to coconut, I was excited to find a curry chicken recipe that doesn't use coconut milk. We followed the recipe exactly except we used red curry paste. My husband thought it tasted nothing like the real curry chicken that he always eats at Thai restaurants. I thought it was pretty good but very spicy (I am kinda wimpy with hot food). We will definitely make this again. We will probably experiment with doubling the milk to make it soupier. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yummy! I followed recommendations and tried this with double the milk, cream cheese, and white pepper (very creamy) and the curry turned out deliciously! The only problem I had was finding green curry paste, I ended up using Kikkoman's Thai Yellow Curry Sauce which I'm 90% sure is more mild than green curry paste. I would love to try this recipe again with all ingredients as is just so I know what the original tastes like. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dairyqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States