Thai Cucumber Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Loved it. I had made early so the salad sat in the fridge for a few hours. I added some goat cheese which was perfect with this combination. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NadineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Yummy and easy to assemble. :-) My family liked it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very good for the faint of heart. I add 1/4 cup fish sauce-1/4 cup white vinegar-1/4 cup cold good water. Then thinly slice one jalapeno or three thai bird peppers. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Made as is - I agree with other reviewers in that it was missing "something". For me, that something was salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Nobody cared for this. I did not put in all 3 tbsps of cilantro, one was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I am a thai food lover so this salad looked like the perfect way to use up the 2 cups of cherry tomatoes I was gifted with by a neighbor. I made this with those cherry tomatoes and diced the cucumber. I substituted raw turbinado sugar for the white + 1 tsp agave nectar to keep the glycemic load as low as possible yet achieve the desired amount of sweetness; I used vidalia onion instead of red. I used 1 tsp coriander seed because I had no fresh cilantro. I used prepared lime juice. I used equal parts seasoned and plain rice vinegars. I did add chopped peanuts for authentic thai taste. I marinated everything in a flat glass pyrex storage dish and turned it upside down at intervals so everything could marinate equally. This is a very mild flavor, the thai-style dressing allows the taste of the veggies to shine through. I could eat this with every meal because it's so colorful, light and healthy. If you appreciate thai food, you will like this. My picky 13 year old enjoys it as much as I do. A complement to burgers, chicken, fish, stir fry, practically everything. I will make this again and again with the changes I listed above. Would be great for office potlucks or picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great salad. I made it this weekend because I had all the ingredients on hand. It was the hit of the party. Flavors just work so well together, especially the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very good & nice blend. Looked pretty with all the different colors & the cute way of doing the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Nice salad, I did need to add some sesame oil and some garlic for more flavor though. I like how simple this salad is, and the peanuts add a good salty crunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
It may have been the vegetables, but, I found it tastless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States