Thai Cucumber Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I am a thai food lover so this salad looked like the perfect way to use up the 2 cups of cherry tomatoes I was gifted with by a neighbor. I made this with those cherry tomatoes and diced the cucumber. I substituted raw turbinado sugar for the white + 1 tsp agave nectar to keep the glycemic load as low as possible yet achieve the desired amount of sweetness; I used vidalia onion instead of red. I used 1 tsp coriander seed because I had no fresh cilantro. I used prepared lime juice. I used equal parts seasoned and plain rice vinegars. I did add chopped peanuts for authentic thai taste. I marinated everything in a flat glass pyrex storage dish and turned it upside down at intervals so everything could marinate equally. This is a very mild flavor, the thai-style dressing allows the taste of the veggies to shine through. I could eat this with every meal because it's so colorful, light and healthy. If you appreciate thai food, you will like this. My picky 13 year old enjoys it as much as I do. A complement to burgers, chicken, fish, stir fry, practically everything. I will make this again and again with the changes I listed above. Would be great for office potlucks or picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great salad. I made it this weekend because I had all the ingredients on hand. It was the hit of the party. Flavors just work so well together, especially the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very good & nice blend. Looked pretty with all the different colors & the cute way of doing the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Nice salad, I did need to add some sesame oil and some garlic for more flavor though. I like how simple this salad is, and the peanuts add a good salty crunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
It may have been the vegetables, but, I found it tastless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Love it! Followed the recipe, except substituted stevia for sugar (son is diabetic) and it is great! Some people thought it needed something- I like it sprinkled with Salad Supreme Seasoning- reminds me of a chain restaurant's cucumber/tomato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Love it! Very light, and beautiful colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I think I know the "something missing" ingredients some reviewers mentioned. This needs a teeny bit of peanut oil and some fresh chopped thai basil. It will make all the difference, trust me. If you have never had thai basil it has a lovely anise taste and aroma but very subtle. This recipe could also use some very thinly sliced radish to add the heat some felt it needed. With those modifications, it will be fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Pretty good. I followed as written, but left out the peanuts (not a fan of them mixed into things).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Great flavor - I made this with fresh cucumbers and tomatoes from the neighbor's garden and it hit the spot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States