Thai Cucumber Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was one of few recipies which I could not imagine how the dish would come out until I actually make it...this is a very good sour-spicy soup. Even though I made it only with cucumbers following the recipe, I think I can add other vegetables, like mushrooms and carrots. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I had to make some changes because I didn't have lemongrass or chile peppers...added lemon zest and juice of a half of lemon, sprinkled with crushed red pepper and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper. What an interesting soup! I also added a can of straw mushrooms and 1 thinly sliced carrot. Next time I am going to add coconut milk instead of sour cream to give it more of a thai taste. Adjust the amount of vinegar and heat to your liking. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was great, but I did change the recipe so this review might not be too helpful. I had some spicy homemade vegetable stock on hand, so I used that and left out the chile peppers. I also used tangerine zest instead of lemon grass because that is so hard to find. I recommend this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjeckel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly and will definitely make it again. Great for using up those summer cucumbers! Very easy and fast prep if you're good with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVER13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Excellent cold soup the next day. Wasn't too impressed with it just cooked, the next day cold it's wonderful! To make it a hardier soup I add mushroom and carrot like the other reviewer suggested. I also thought it was not hot enough. I wouldn't de-seed as suggest , but leave the seeds in and add even more chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Fantastic! I wouldn't have dreamed of a hot cucumber soup, but with the fish sauce taste it works for me. I used 4 cucumbers and seeded them, and two serrano peppers rather than 3 (seeded). I skipped the lemongrass as none was on hand. I used a little extra chicken stock and no water, and used an immersion blender right before adding the sour cream to give it a nice texture - but stopped when there was still some cucumber chunks. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Not good at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Everyone loved this recipe!!! Usually test recipes before a dinner party, but what the heck. Followed it to the T and it was delicious! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I used this recipe minus the butter and used it as a healthy snack. Enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
awesome! i luv anything Thai and this was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States